Skip to content

My trip to Chicago

October 29, 2011
First get a good guide book, I would recommend, “el país Aguilar”,it has maps in 3 dimensions and shows routes depending on the time you have or what you are looking for.
And as my family says I’m addicted to the guides, I suggest taking a bus tour to get an overview of the city, which has a guide explaining all the views and their history. I was told that it  was worth to go on a boat tour along the Chicago River to see whole city … but I didn’t have enough time to do it.
What surprised me most was how clean it is and its broad avenues. It’s a stunning place architecture lovers because it has a magnificent contrast of  skyscrapers together with much lower buildings of New Gothic style.
Do not miss the University of Chicago, the Robie House by Frank Lloyd Wright (also author of Guggenheim NY) and the world’s highest building “Sears Tower”. One trick to see the city from above is going to the cocktail bar in the skyscraper “John Hancock”, because the entrance is free, unlike the observatory. Stunning views!
Although we were recommend to visit the “Field Museum”, it seemed to me a horror, hundreds of dissected animals, that put me off seeing more museums. I chose to continue seeing the city, very nice the Millennium Park, with various attractions, the immense sculpture nicknamed The Bean,which reflects the park and its surroundings, the Jay Pritzker Pavilion by Frank Gehry that  has a magnificent auditorium for concerts and The Crown Fountain that consists of two towers where images of Chicago citizens are in continuous projection and their mouths suddenly throw a water jet, something truly original.
Indeed, the Chicago’s marathon was very hard because the heat was terrible, imagine running about 4 hours at 30 degrees, unfortunately a firefighter aged 35, with extensive experience in marathons, died. I have to comment that my husband ended with his worst record but in good condition, fortunately.
Sure I am forgetting to mention many interesting places in Chicago but I don´t want to bore you, greetings to all.

skyline

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cochando permalink
    November 1, 2011 3:19 pm

    You made me green with envy Alicia! Despite the unfortunate incident, I can see that you had a very good time there. It called my attention your description of “The Crown Fountain”, so I looked it up in the web. I found some interesting images of it and it seems very artistic and amusing.

  2. marisa permalink
    November 2, 2011 12:19 am

    Thank you Alicia. You are lucky that your husband decided to run the marathon, that way you enjoyed the city without having to make the effort of running 42 km!

  3. November 2, 2011 2:38 pm

    I’m so jealous!!! I have never been in The U.S.A but it has to be amazing to visit a city like chicago, New York,… We can watch a lot of soups from there so I guess it’s quite interesting to walk trough the street and realize that you already know that place!

Leave a Reply

