Skip to content

Vancouver (Canada)

October 18, 2010

Hey guys!

I’m going to tell you about the best place I’ve ever visited: Vancouver (Canada).

I went there two years ago when I was 17 years old. At the beginning of the journey I was afraid because I didn’t know anybody but when I arrived, I met a lot of people. I lived with a nice Philippine family in an enormous wooden house.

In Vancouver city there were a lot of skyscrapers and there was a contrast between the grey buildings and the green trees. To go from one place to another I had to take the Skytrain, buses or the Seabus (it was a big boat with a lot of seats).

In the morning I went to English classes to the KGIC (King George International College) from 9:00 to 15:00. Then, our Spanish group used to visit famous places and make several trips. Here I’ve submitted some photos where you will see some places I visited.

This is the forest where the famous film “Twilight” was shot. It was a  very relaxing place because you couldn’t hear car horns or city noises, just the noise of the wind, rivers, birds…

This beach was called English Bay and as it was summer, it was plenty of people sunbathing and swimming (despite the very  cold water ). There, one night, we saw the fireworks world championship, I think China won.

This photo was taken in another beach called Spanish Banks; we went there to make a barbecue.

Who doesn’t know the famous coffee shop Starbucks? We were addicted to chocolate, vanilla and strawberry “frapuccinos”. We also went to eat doughnuts to a place called Tim Hortons.

Well, we visited other places such as the aquarium, the Arena (we saw a soccer match), the Stanley Park, several discos, the cinema, Surrey… and also, we went rafting.

Finally, I want to show you a funny video that a friend made in the roller coaster.  (I’m the girl who wears a pink t-shirt and says “hello” with a squeaky voice).

I hope you’ve enjoyed my post and remember, I really recommend you to visit Vancouver, you won’t forget the experience.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. maria hidalgo permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:05 pm

    I´m completely surprised with your calm and peace when the machine stopped. I´d died.

  2. sonidelu87 permalink
    October 20, 2010 10:08 am

    I have seen the video too and I think the same as Maria thinks… How could you be so calm???? I think than the boy of the video, that seems very nice, helped you, isn´t it? all the time making jokes 🙂
    And about the journey, I think you aren´t going to forget anything about it, because this kind of experiences are unique at life. Now, when I´m 23 years old, I regret not having had any trip with other young people.
    But I think that I still have many trips in my life. I hope so!

  3. mireiacol permalink
    October 20, 2010 9:43 pm

    Actually, I was calm because I wasn’t upside down!! If something wrong had happened we had a ladder hahaha 😛

  4. marisadedios permalink*
    October 22, 2010 12:24 pm

    It seems like a really memorable experience. I feel envious Mireia. Canada is one of the countries I have always wanted to visit but I have never managed to yet.

  5. Estefaniamoll permalink
    November 12, 2010 11:34 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed your post because it reminds me when I went to England with an scholarship. I was about your age and I had a great fun. I advise you not to lose any opportunity to travel abroad and meet a lot of people.

Leave a Reply

