Skip to content

THE BEST JOB

October 15, 2011
by

Just few days ago, I was talking to my wife about the ideal job. Therefore I got surprised when we were asked last Thursday to write about the best company to work for.

My conclusion was that there is no ideal job. Your personal and professional conditions and ambitions change with every stage of your life.

For instance, do yo think that a man in his fifties would be happy in Google’s headquarters coffe room  listening every to his twenty year old colleagues tells him how he got stonned the previous night…. and this day after day! I have nightmares better than this image.

But I don’t want to refuse to propose the best company to work for, or rather the best job: TAXI DRIVER.

Why this option? Because of personal experience.

My father became a taxi driver when he was 45 years old. After working hard for the same company since he was 14  he got fired, having to educate three sons. Nowadays his sons are a doctor,  an architect and  an engineer thanks to his and his wife’s efforts, but obviously thanks to the taxi car.

But, this can be achieved through many jobs (although nowadays it seems hard to say something like that), what really has made me  take this option is:

1. You don’t have a boss (what usually translates in more working hours).

2. You have 3000 colleagues to cho0se who you are really interested in (and ignore absoloutly the rest). In fact, now that my father has been retired for four years he still keeps in touch with his taxidriver friends.

3. You can say a customer they are stupid and you only lose four euros…

4. Apple is not going to open a new and smarter shop in front of yours…

5. You get your salary in cash every day. No problem with customer pending debts.

6. You experience some interesting situations and personalities, Conan Doyle Taxi Driver

7. And so on….

There are only two bad things: timetable and security.

But It would be a good option for me when working hours stop being a problem for me …maybe in 10 years, when my children become teenagers😉

x

7 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    October 15, 2011 12:09 pm

    Funny! I’ve got a friend who just the other day told me he wanted to give up his job and become a taxi driver!

  2. jesarqit permalink
    October 15, 2011 4:13 pm

    Two years ago I had to take a taxi every week that´s how I could check that meanwhile some taxi drivers are nice and talkative, others just drive through the same city everyday within what can be considered their moving second house. Sure it´s better than going to the same office everyday to spend eight hours in front of a computer but, have you ever thought about being a travel guides writer? That´s for me a nice job that allows you to visit cities, discover different cultures, know all kinds of people and learn new languages all around the globe. And in the end you share all those experiences and places with the people who can follow your steps and hints in their own trips, and even get their feedbacks. That’s from my point of view the best job.

  3. lidiaeb permalink
    October 16, 2011 1:01 pm

    Well, I loved Alpa72´s post.
    I agree the philosophic of your post. In class I was just about to talk about the selt-employed job. I was self-employed for 12 years and most of the time I enjoyed it.
    It has lots of benefics or perks. You are alone, nobody bothers you. All money you earn is yours. You are your boss. You decide how long hour you work to reach your own goals.
    Finally, it could be an ideal job but I have to recognize that nowadays even the self-employed is in bad conditions too. Bye

  4. Alvaro Diaz permalink
    October 16, 2011 9:00 pm

    Hello everyone! I’m sorry but as I’m too new at this i don’t still know how to upload a post like this to tell what job would be the best option for me so I will just write my opinion about this and as soon as I know how to write something like this, I’ll do it. In my opinion, working as a taxi would be a good as long as you live in a large city, otherwise it could be very annoying picking up passengers from one place to another, going through I way you’ve just already gone by for thousand million time in your live. Appart from that, being asked to pick some passenger in a dangerous area of your city is something that for sure no one would really like to do. So despite thinking your reasons are great, I’m sorry but I don’t agree with you.

  5. Alvaro Diaz permalink
    October 17, 2011 11:17 pm

    hello! After thinking about it during the whole day, I’ve just come to a conclussion, the best job in my opinion would be working as ambassador in Buenos Aires. I think this is a great city with a lot of cultural activities to attend, fantastic places to visit and a breath taking atmosphere The only problem of living in a place like this is the money so everybody knows that in latin america life conditions for people living there are not so good as they could be because of this. However, living there with a European salary would mean to have an extraordinary high life quality that would let us lead a really good comfortable life. Moreover, working as an ambassador is something that I realy like because having a charge like this means holding cultural events between the two participating nations, approching them to each other and improving their relationship.Finally, staying abroad is always something good that teachs us a lot of things of life and allows us to get to know different cultures and new people.

  6. October 17, 2011 11:41 pm

    Hello, when I talked about a good employment, I did it in a pragmatical way. It is obvious that there are better works, as that of ambassador or travel guides writer… but how many ambassadors do you know in Valencia?

    If we talk about ideal works I have some of them in mind….but I can’t write them out😉

  7. Alvaro Diaz permalink
    October 18, 2011 12:09 pm

    well, you are right, there might not be a lot of ambassador, especially in Valence perhaps because it’s not the capital of the country but it doesn’te mean that people from Valence can’t reach that kind of work. It is also an ideal work as you said but not an impossible one to work as. It’s true I could have chosen another more realistic one but this was what came to my mind and even if it’s difficult and hard to become ambassador i just wanted to explain to all of you my point of view related to all the good thing a charge like this involves. I’ll keep thinking on another one guys. greetings

Leave a Reply

