Skip to content

UNDER THE SAME ROOF?

March 30, 2009

Hi mates!

I made a trip to London last week during fallas holiday and it was a great experience!

Our hotel was near Russell Square, at the entrance to the tube there was man handing out free papers for the people (The London paper).

I have found an enjoyable article to discuss about. It goes as follows:


Article from: www.thelondonpaper.com/love

Under the same roof

Tuesday March 17, 2009

By Jessica Fellow


Couples can move in together to save money—but at a cost says Jessica Fellowes

First it gets your cash, then it starts taking your living space. If the credit crunch means you are starting to see a lot more of your girlfriend or boyfriend, and not in a good way, then you are not the only one.

In a recession, even love has to downsize. Whether you have lost your job or are in fear of a `restructure´, it can be tempting to ask your other half if you should halve your rents by living together – or, if you´ve already taken the plunge, moving to a smaller place.

But can this really be a solution? Halved bills may mean double your cash, but that´s no good if you have no room in which to enjoy it.

One in five couples feel “ finantially shackled together”, according to a survey by building society Skipton.

Writer Georgina Mellville, 33, and her partner, events organiser Will Bean, 29, gave up their house in Essex at the end of last year. Now they live in a tiny one-bedroom flat nearer work in west London. “If we felt cramped in our house we could always retreat to different rooms to have a bit of space”, says Georgina. “But now there is no privacy unless one of us goes out”.

“Every time I open a cupboard something falls out, which makes me want to scream. There is no room to hide and being so boxed in is eating away at any romance.”

Meanwhile, when space is at a premium, you need to organise your own zones too.

Interior designer Mhairi Coyle recommends couples create ”his” and “hers” areas. “You must each have well-organised, sepatare storage. Chuck out as much as you can. Mirrors that face windows can add light to a room, as can pale colours.

“ Have different settings for lighting: bright lights for food preparation and low-lights for entertaining. Prioritise the bedroom, too. Make it clutter-free”.

Five ways to make it work

  1. Remember to talk: Don´t forget to have proper chats together regularly.
  2. Create your own mystery: Shut the bathroom door to ‘transform’ for your evening date.
  3. Go out separately: It mantains the sense you have your own life.
  4. Turn the telly off: A TV in a small place can take over- switch it off.
  5. Dejunk your home: Store or chuck anything not in regular use.

What would you do if your couple asked you to live together in order to save money?

What would you do to preserve your intimity?

Would you prefer to live with friends and mantain your own space or live with your partner?

Do you think these circumstances only happen in huge cities like London?

Have you ever lived a situation like this?

Cheers!

Nadia

5 Comments leave one →
  1. eoiamalfi permalink
    March 31, 2009 6:45 pm

    First of all, I never have lived this kind of situation.
    In my opinion, the step of living under the same roof, is an important decision that should be make together.
    I suppose if the couple usually get on well and they really get to know each other, there won´t be significant problems.
    However if my boyfriend asked me to live together in order to save money, I think I would have refused.
    On the other hand, I agree with the article in preserving your own life…for example: going out separately, working in different places and not having just the same hobbies because it could be very tedious and monotonous.

  2. Beatrz Forés permalink
    April 11, 2009 1:28 am

    Comment by Beatriz Fores
    Under the same roof
    Nowadays the space is a luxury in big cities, above all. But, some years ago it used to be the same in everywhere. It is difficult to find now someone fifty years old who didn’t have to sleep in the same room almost with two or three relatives (brothers, sisters, grandmother…) What has change is the size of the families and consequently the size of the flats but the space is almost the same.
    When I came to Valencia to study I had to share a flat with some friends. It was the cheapest way to live and I recall having very funny moments and I can say I learnt to cook with my flatmates. But after twelve years and near six different flats and groups of friends and a lot of arguments and problems, we all wanted to live on our own.
    However, I must say that more or less seven of these twelve years I shared my room with my boyfriend and I don’t remember feeling stressful for that. Perhaps, because we did at least the last three advices in the article.
    I think that with this economic crisis not only it’s going to be more common to see couples living together but also different families: single mothers or single fathers with their children in order to afford the cost of living.

  3. María del Campo permalink
    April 18, 2009 8:55 pm

    Hi Nadia, here are my answers to your article:

    1.- What would you do if your couple asked you to live together in order to save money?

    As far as I’m concerned I think the main reason for living with my couple wouldn’t be ‘saving cash’. I think it would be a great amount of things like spend more time together, share experiences,… To sum up, have a life together. But on the other hand nowadays with the economic recession perhaps it’s a good option for that people who were wavering about sharing their lives.

    2.- What would you do to preserve your intimacy?

    In my opinion, living with your couple is as difficult or easy as you want. I agree with the author, retreating to different rooms would make life easier and having your own life (going out with friends separately …) would help too.

    3.- Would you prefer t live with your friends and maintain your own space or live with your partner?

    With regard to this question, at this moment I would prefer to maintain my own space living with my partner instead that living with friends, but some years ago I’m sure I would have chosen living with friends.

    4.- Do you think these circumstances only happen in huge cities like London?

    No, I don’t think so, I think these circumstances are happening more and more in every cities. For instance, I have some friends which are sharing a flat in Valencia and I think this is due to the fact that buying or renting a flat is so expensive for young people who usually have low incomes.

    5.- Have you ever lived a situation like this?

    Yes I have, some years ago when I decided to live with my boyfriend (nowadays husband) we rent a very little flat with just a bedroom and a bathroom, and we lived there for a year. I don’t Know if it was because it was our first year living together but I don’t remember feeling cramped in that mini flat.
    Sometimes I miss that little flat but I have to admit that our bigger flat is miles comfortable than the first one and perhaps after five years living together it would be more difficult for us to live in such a little place.

  4. janea08 permalink
    April 24, 2009 2:28 pm

    What would you do if your couple asked you to live together in order to save money?

    I would refuse the offer if that was the only reason for us to live in together. I think we should have better reasons to share our life. For instance the reasons Maria have mentioned in her comment. Reading this article I can imagine why the divorce is increasing year by year.

    What would you do to preserve your intimity?

    I agree with the article you always must save for you a bit of life, being you, never the half of somebody. So if your partner is ok it should be easy for you to preserve your room, your friends, your taste, your humour, your time, etc. in a natural way. However if you like somebody, it would be normal to share lots of things with him/her, especially if you both have the luck to have enough affinity for it. Then when the time went on (enough to be prepared), will be the time to share children, yes children this little people who can change completely your life again with a big smile. Although talking about such things I think all depend on the personality of everybody. Some people are more independent than others and every couple have to make their own rules.

    Would you prefer to live with friends and maintain your own space or live with your partner?

    I think those objectives must be compatible. If you are not able enough to maintain your own space living with a partner, you both have a problem.

    Do you think these circumstances only happen in huge cities like London?
    Have you ever lived a situation like this?

    I suppose it happen everywhere. I think the economic crisis would affect young people in being independents from their families. Maybe to share a flat with some friends (with or without partners) would be a solution. I did that many years ago. It could be a good intermediate step to learn to live with others. Because I think the main problem today is living together. Doesn’t matter if is with friends or boy/girlfriend. To share with others implies a compromise. And under my point of view nowadays people don’t like accepting responsibilities or sacrifices unrewarding.

  5. June 23, 2009 11:58 am

    Thank you for your post. I will bookmark your site. What is your recommend shop for the home equpment.

Leave a Reply

