Skip to content

G R A Y

December 6, 2011

 Grey is my favourite colour, not just because it matches with every single colour or its range of tones. It is also because it fits with my personality, not black, not white,  just grey. I know in Spanish it has a negative connotation, but not for me. Being grey I am in the middle of opposite ideas ( white & black) and learning from both sides. That idea leads me to “the stereotypes” :

Talking about people is quite usual to associate certain characteristics to an ethnia,  social background,  nationality, genre or even political convictions! I can assure you that not every single Afroamerican guy is hung, or all jews are mean…well, at least is not  the whole truth. Obviously there is a reason for these ideas, although we can forget above all the circumstances or feautures of each person is that we are unique and full of surprises. There is a whole world inside of you, a singular combination of thoughts and feelings that is worth to increase and discover.  I would like to think of myself as a “person explorer”, and in my experience discovering new “worlds” I have to tell you that the most disappointing thing is when you realize that some people need to fit in a stipulated category just because they have the need of being  part of a group…the funny thing is that we already are, we are social animals, we are human beings
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Leonor permalink
    December 6, 2011 10:32 am

    Thanks for your post Carlos! It’s an interesting discussion 😉 I’m with you in that we people are already part of a group, which is ‘human beings’, and although maybe some of us don’t want to, genetically speaking, we are also part of smaller groups differentiated by races.
    Animals have always been part of a group in order to attack their preys, find food… etc. And don’t forget one thing, we’re also animals xD

  2. December 6, 2011 4:57 pm

    I love your discussion Carlos, even more now with those horrible period of time we are living. Possitive and constructive thinking are needed. I deeply agree with the fact that all the extremes are dangerous. We would have to build our future with tolerance.

  3. jesarqit permalink
    December 6, 2011 5:12 pm

    I also love grey, life is never black or white. I`d like to add an amazing photography project by Ari Versluis & Ellie Uyttenbroek that becomes a suitable complement to your entry. – Check it here http://www.exactitudes.com

  4. yasalve permalink
    December 6, 2011 5:42 pm

    Jesarquit I really like the photography that you have uploaded. It reminds me the photographies of Oliviero Toscani for Benetton. They also can fit very well with this post because they talk about tolerance.
    I add you a page where you can check the most famous Toscani’s photos. http://www.20minutos.es/galeria/3056/0/6/oliviero/toscani/fotos/

  5. December 7, 2011 11:28 am

    This is a very nice article!!!Of course, we are different from each other. We have ‘beings’ and we have to fight in order to get them, and I do everyday throught my web page: http://www.yotambienviajo.com, because every one of us, ability and disability people, have the same right to be independent

  6. Laura permalink
    December 7, 2011 7:35 pm

    I agree with you, stereotypes aren’t true very often. Spaniards are said to love parties and we eat paella at any time, and that’s really annoying…An english idiom says: People who live in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones!

  7. Cynthia permalink
    December 14, 2011 12:25 pm

    Interesting post Carlos!
    I’ve upholded and will always uphold the idea of “we are all human beings” and “human rights” above all. But I would say that in some cases, like in the stereotypes of populations, environment and culture play an important role in the way of those people act or think.
    And one more thing. It isn’t about stereotypes it is about the way of how people tend to use that word with negative connotations (because it also exists positive stereotypes)

    P.S.: I like the idea of variety in colors, not only black, grey or white.

  8. carlosruanoregal permalink
    December 19, 2011 5:42 am

    thx 4 all your comments! 😉

  9. Leslie permalink
    October 16, 2012 5:04 am

    I know this is pretty old but I just wanted to say I agree. I also think that if all of us think this way then there would most likely be less bullies out there.

Leave a Reply

