Skip to content

PROCRASTINATION

November 29, 2011
by

Last Thursday while I  was driving from Barcelona to Valencia I was listening to a radio programme in which they discussed  a blog named “you are not so smart”. In my daily search of interesting themes for our blog I thought this could lead to a funny one.

The program spoke about expectations and how what you expect from things, changes the way you perceive them. For instance, the program refered to several studies made in different universities that demonstrated that wine of very different quality or price received very similar punctuations if the appearance of presentation was not coherent with the quality expected.

I had the intention of writing a funny blog post related to your favourite brother-in-law and his fine nose for wine until I read the blog and I discovered a new word: PROCRASTINATION. This made me change my mind.

The way the next video describes procrastination and presents bias astonished me and I thought that I had to share it with you. Please watch this video. It’s so interesting, not only for the content, but for the media. I think it is one of the most clear  and direct presentations I have ever seen:

As the video says, I will not waste any time and I’ll start my piano lessons right now. I think I have found two good teachers to begin because they use a revolutionary method of learning. The hardest thing with this method, I think, will be to keep concentration, but maybe the teachers also have an answer for that!! See the method in this video:

I hope you enyoy the videos!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Eugenia Ferrer Perez permalink
    November 29, 2011 1:16 pm

    I´m really impressed.
    As soon as I´ve seen the video of procrastination I´ve sent 2 reports I´ve been puting off for half a month and I feel smarter now or at least relieved. Thank you for the video.

  2. jesarqit permalink
    November 29, 2011 4:20 pm

    I was procrastinating while I was watching this post, hahahaha. Now It´s time to deliver the tasks.

  3. Noemí permalink
    November 29, 2011 7:21 pm

    First of all…. thank you very much for the second video! I’m not in a good personal time and it made me laugh a lot!!! Aboout procrastination… we don’t think how important is our time and we always think what we ant to do but never for today! Will you do a demosnstration with the piano if you learn how to play it like these two men??? jajaja

  4. Lorena Gallego permalink
    November 30, 2011 10:45 am

    Wow! Great video, it’s able to state the blindingly obvious in just 3 minutes. I feel so identified with it… Procrastination never again! (Or maybe only twice a month, hehe)

  5. November 30, 2011 5:26 pm

    After watching the add video I can say that the first thing I do when I wake up is to procrastinate.
    Every morning, when my alarm clock goes off, I think “five minutes more, please” and so on… In the end, I almost always get up with such a little time that I hardly ever have time to enjoy my coffee.
    Do you think this is an example of procrastination or it´s only a question of laziness?
    As your video says “Tools alone will not help”, so tomorrow I´m going to help my tool (my alarm clock) and when it starts buzzing, I´ll think of your video trying to encourage me to get me up early.
    As for the second one: “beyond words”. Nevertheless I support your resoultion of starting your piano lessons right now, but please as Noemí says, we want to go to your first concert when you learn how to play the piano like the two guys, ok? Ha, ha, ha…

  6. Cynthia permalink
    November 30, 2011 6:00 pm

    Pro…what? I’ve never heard about that word, obviously in english. And then, when I translated it, I found that I’m an expert in that field (otherwise I’ll start and finish things one by one, with time, not always in a hurry!)
    The worse thing is that I’ve always wanted to change this. I start well: I make my weekly plan, I put deadlines,etc but at the end, I don’t know how, I procrastinate…
    I’m thinking I’m going to start again…let’s see how long it lasts!!

    P.S. thank’s for making us procrastinate with the second video… :-p

  7. XimoM permalink
    November 30, 2011 8:14 pm

    In the morning I was waiting my rehabilitation while reading a newspaper, ADN. Honestly, I’ve never heard about this word, but curiously, there was an article about ” PROCRASTINAR” and, apart from the laziness, there was something which has made me pay attention “The lack of reward and fear of failure help to put aside what we can do”. In this case it is worrying, but in most cases, in my opinion, we shouldn’t be too obssessed, simply it’s question of our personality. If Concha would get up imediately and Cynthia would carry out all her plans, they would be other people.

    ADN article: http://www.adn.es/impresa/lavida/20111130/NWS-0198-Dejarlo-final.html

  8. yasalve permalink
    November 30, 2011 8:45 pm

    I had the same problem as you Cythia, I didn’t understand the meaning of procrastination but when I watched the translation everything started to make sense…
    The whole week I have been thinking of this problem. This semester I have all the week without any activity in the evenings and I wanted to start studying before the exams get closer and it is being impossible. I can’t find my mood of studying until 7 p.m and then I feel bad but I don’t change my habits… hahahaha is just what the video say.
    I don’t know if procrastination is a problem or I just can’t work without pressure because I’m lazy. Anyway, I’m going to follow the tips of the first video that you posted just in case it works.
    The second video is very funny and is a pity that they speak in greek because I like to hear how they describe their method of playing piano

  9. December 5, 2011 8:56 pm

    Maybe, I haven’t understood the meaning of “Proscrastation”…, but where is the problem if you decide to put off the things. Likely, if you potspone something, it is because it’s not the best moment for doing it.

  10. jesarqit permalink
    December 10, 2011 6:04 am

    It took me some time but I found another nice video about procrastination, I hope you enjoy it too – http://vimeo.com/15182896

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Ways to stay focused at work « IMΛGIПΣ ƬΉΣ ƧPIЯIƬ

Leave a Reply

