Skip to content

Why is it important to improve our pronunciation?

November 8, 2011

Last Thursday in our class we practiced intonation and stress patterns.

When you are speaking English the words you stress can change the underlying meaning of a sentence. Therefore, it is an indispensable part of speech.

This simple sentence can have many levels of meaning based on the word you stress. Consider the meaning of the following sentences with the different stressed word in bold.

She gave her dog/biscuits. (Meaning: She gave biscuits to her dog.)

She gave her/dog biscuits. (Meaning: She gave dog biscuits to a lady.)

He doesn’t beat his wife/because he loves her. (Meaning: He doesn’t, reason is his love for her.)

He doesn’t beat his wife because he loves her (without stress). (Meaning: He does, but for some other reason than love.)

Intonation problems are probably the hardest to figure out, especially for the beginner. I suffered with this.. and example:

The word project that it means> Proyecto

The word project that it means> Pronosticar

This video shows a funny situation about problems related to right pronunciation.

What´s about Scottish pronunciation? Have you ever heard anything about this? I just discovered this video on internet. This is fun, and it makes me think … What would the sketch be like two Spanish people pronouncing ELEVEN ?

But, if you don´t know how to  pronounce well… in this link  you can listen to how different native people pronounce different words. If this link is interesting for us, I will attach it to MISTER WRONG tool. In that case it is very important and necessary to practice a lot with native speakers if you can  in order to try to imitate the sound and pronunciation of each word at the same time as it will help become more fluent.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 7:56 pm

    Very funny video! I´ve had a good laugh with it and I will try to improve my pronunciation for sure!

  2. cochando permalink
    November 8, 2011 9:34 pm

    Hilarious video! First time I visited London, I went to a Pizza Restaurant to have dinner. Ordering a pizza was a real nightmare due to the amount of ingredients (and the pronunciation of them). But the worse was when the waiter asked me: “How do you prefer your pizza thick or thin?”. My God! The sound of both words was exactly the same! I didn´t understand anything! In my ears the sound was the same: “zin, zin, zin,… ” In the end, the waiter had to explain to me the difference between both words gesturing with his hands. How embarrassing! As you can imagine I didn´t dare to ask for dessert.

  3. jesarqit permalink
    November 8, 2011 10:26 pm

    Great video example! I could die laughing with this pair of guys inside the elevator! Hahahaha. I also had once problems asking for a “Shakespeare” novel. It seems easy to pronounce but it was even embarrasing not being able to communicate “just” because of the pronunciation of that name. And, try to explain “shakespeare” in other words. Hahaha

  4. November 8, 2011 11:44 pm

    hahahaha really funny! I enjoyed it a lot! Pronunciation is very important. I worked as a leisure attendant in The district Lake and It was embarrasing when people there asked me which was my job and I never got the word leisure across. Still now, when I say that I worked as leisure attendant English people don’t understand me. For me it’s very hard to improve my pronuntiation.

  5. marisa permalink
    November 9, 2011 12:40 am

    HAHA! Marta I have posted the very same video as a comment to Learning through laughing post. I love this two, don’t they have a wonderful accent?

  6. Lorena Gallego permalink
    November 9, 2011 12:56 pm

    I love it! Hilarious sketch, “freedoooom!!!”, hahahaha… Don’t you sounds familiar this when you phone at any customer services department and answers you an answering machine?

    Speaking about pronunciation… What do you think about Emilio’s one?

  7. lolesj permalink
    November 9, 2011 1:07 pm

    Great video!I`ve a good time watch it…but What about this other?http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLEQoyIkho4&NR=1

  8. Noemí permalink
    November 9, 2011 1:33 pm

    Lorena! how good was Emilio’s Botin video!!! Maybe he should practice a bit more with his pronunciation….
    About improving our pronunciation…. as you can see in the video the two scotish men had problems with their own language pronunciation (american, british, scotish) so…. Marisa you have to forgive us with our english one!

  9. Laura permalink
    November 9, 2011 1:55 pm

    Amazing videos! Now I can’t give up thinking about the way I say “eleven” in English, and I hope it doesn’t sound like Emilio Botin’s speech!

  10. November 10, 2011 10:43 pm

    Today in class we have been talking about great english speakers like Emilio Botin.

    This other guy is also a good example, In my opinion only Aquarius intepreted by Raphael is comparable with! With all of you: EL PRINCIPE GITANO

    I have chosen subtitled version; in few seconds you’ll understand why!

  11. November 11, 2011 10:10 am

    Is it really Raphael?? What a shame !! At first sight I thought it was Juan (from Cruz y Raya) imitating him, but then I find out it was truly Raphael.

    By the way, thanks for choosing the subtitled version.

  12. November 11, 2011 11:11 am

    OHHH my God I´m deeply embarrassed about Botin… Those people in these very responsible post should manage with the language. It happends with politician as well…

  13. November 11, 2011 11:24 am

    He is not Raphael….

  14. mnovella permalink
    November 11, 2011 12:04 pm

    Thank you for the comments!!! I hope it serves to increase our self-esteem…

    This interview it´s a crazt interview…. Enjoy it!!!

  15. November 14, 2011 12:07 am

    I’ve enjoyed the videos a lot and I thought I’d die laughing when I saw two guys saying “eleven” constantly in different pronunciation (American, Scotish, British,etc).
    I’m thinking in this moment when you are speaking with a machine from a Phone company and you have to choose different options. I think it’s a embarrasing situation too.

  16. Lola Varela permalink
    November 27, 2011 5:29 pm

    I think it is a great video. In my case i’ve been married to a Scottish person for many years so I do like this. I also think pronunciation is important so I will show it to mu students and give the link.
    Laughing is very good for learning.

Leave a Reply

