Skip to content

Valencia by bike.

November 7, 2011
tags:
by

Trying to do something different?. Take your bike and cycle!

Although Valencia has a lot of attractive bikeways, not all of them are only urban. You can find very interesting green paths which connect the city centre with other towns in the surroundings. 

Have you ever imagine cycling inside a river? Here you can do that! Of course the riverbed is dry nowadays and it has been transformed in a green area of seven kilometers flowing across urban centre. Inside the river bed you can find a safe bicycle path isolated of cars and heavy traffic, surrounded by a great natural environment. 

Why is this river a garden now?. In 1957 the river overflowed causing several deaths and property damages therefore the authorities decided to divert the river outside the city.

 Turia river

 In case of not owning a bike you can hire one in any of the city hiring places or using the valenbisi service which are placed all around the city. Despite  the fact that valenbisi service is mainly for people who live in the city, you can also use it if you’re a visitor, because you have the possibility of making a weekly payment in the same bicycle station using your credit card and immediately take a bike. 

Once started, make sure that you move correctly and do not invade the space for pedestrians even though many people believe that they are bicycles and walk along bike lanes unaware of the danger. In order to have a safe experience it is recommended to use security features to protect you against any mishap. Use helmet and light elements to see and be seen as night falls.

danger

The route runs between the City of Science and “Cabecera” park. Along the way, we can find landmarks such as gardens, museums, concert halls, historic bridges and sporting facilities.

But the road extends beyond Valencia city limits and you can continue through a riverside park, parallel to Turia river. So if you feel with energy to pedal more you can try this incredible route.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Eugenia Ferrer Perez permalink
    November 7, 2011 7:44 pm

    The municipal system of hiring bikes has become a complete success as every day more and more people use it but it also has its disadvantages, for instance there are also more bike accidents in which cars and bikes are involved because now there are a lot of people driving bikes that are inexperienced. We also need new rules or laws to cycle safely for cyclist,pedestrians and car drivers

  2. November 7, 2011 11:11 pm

    Yes, I agree, new rules must be implemented, I think pedestrians have to have priority over cyclists and car drivers. And certainly, it is very attractive to bike along the river bed, however there are segments of it that there is not any signal to cyclists and sometimes you can bump with someone who believes is “Contador” who almost runs over you. I witnessed one and fortunately it was only a great scary shock.

  3. November 8, 2011 12:44 am

    I should have said that biking is healthy as well wherever you go to

  4. rugure permalink
    November 8, 2011 1:59 pm

    You’re right Eugenia. Bike accidents have increased recently. In fact I was hit by a car two weeks ago but luckili nothing happened to me. I was stopped in a bikeway waiting for the green traffic light to cross the street and there was another bike on the opposite side. When the light turned green came a car and let the other bike cross but the car driver did not look to the left and hit me.

  5. marisadedios permalink*
    November 8, 2011 5:40 pm

    I think it is fantastic that we can see more and more people commuting by bike in our city. In fact, when I was less lazy, I used to cycle to school and I really loved it. Maybe after this post I’ll consider bringing my bike to work. Mind you, I hope I won’t have any accidents! I can assure you driving is also quite dangerous, though.

  6. jesarqit permalink
    November 8, 2011 10:44 pm

    I still dream with the day that Valencia becomes like Copenhagen or Amsterdam. A city where there are no bike lanes, where pedestrians are aware of bikes, and vice versa, and cars are less and less a part of our cityscape. Have you ever notice that you even get a different impression about the city while riding a bike?

  7. November 9, 2011 8:57 pm

    From my point of view, Valencia is a good city to commute by bicycle because one doesn’t need to be fit to do it. Most of the streets of Valencia are flat, so one doesn’t need to do a lot effort to go by bicycle through them.
    Besides, there are increasingly kilometres of cycle path in Valencia and in its surroundings and, from some time ago (approximately one year and a half), people can use the valenbisi service.
    I think the use of bicycles to get around is one of the best ways to help to protect the environment from climate change because it reduces the quantity of pollutants released in the atmosphere.

  8. Noemí permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:47 pm

    I’ve been using Valenbisi for 1 year and i can tell you that cycling is one of the best ways to move around valencia! However, there are a lot of things that should be solved in the city to be able to clycle safetly.
    Most of the times you’re using the bike, you don’t have any cycle path, so you have to choose between the sidewalk with the pedestrians or the road with the cars. A bike is faster than a person walking so it’s annoying for pedestrians to cycle with them, but the bike is slower than cars so it’s dangerous for us to cycle on the road, so….. what to do???
    Valenbisi is a really good idea, because as Javier said Valencia is a perfect city to cycle, but it needs a lot of infraestructures that nowadays we still dont have.

  9. Ximo permalink
    November 13, 2011 1:45 pm

    It is fantastic to be able to ride a bike in big cities. I envy cities like, as Jesus says, Amsterdam, where cycle paths are very good. In Valencia there are many broad avenues. However, there is cycle path in only one side, so it can be dangerous for cyclists and even for pedestrians.

    By the way.
    For all of you who use the bike for pleasure, there is an amazing cycle path from Ciudad de las Ciencias to Saler beaches. At the same time you do sport, you have fantastics views.

  10. javiervilavazquez permalink
    November 13, 2011 7:46 pm

    I agree with Noemí, may be it could be dangerous cycle in this city but I want be optimistic and I think if everybody start commuting by bicycle we can learn how to respect each other when we are on the street, walking, driving or cicling. A few years ago I saw a workmate commuting by bike and I thought it could be a good idea but not for me because I live 8 km from the work and I thought I’ll arrive really tired to work but I decided to try it and now I go to work cycling and I feel better but not because I feel fit now, it’s because I arrive work with a really good mood, happy, relaxed because I don’t know if there are a lot traffic jams or the bus comes late or whatever because I’m cicling by the river for 25 minutes smelling the grass seeing the trees and smailling

  11. November 17, 2011 6:31 am

    I´m too a user of Valenbisi and I´m delightful to be able to move by bicycle around the city. Beacause of the fantastic weather that we have here in Valencia, it´s a pleasure to go to any places at any time of the year and as Javier says, it´s true that you arrive there in a best humour. I think that Valenbisi is one of the best inventions of today!!

  12. Filip94 permalink
    November 23, 2011 3:29 pm

    I think that the idea of creatng things like Valenbisi is really good, but in my country it isn’t very popular. Cycling is popular expecially between youths. We have more and more cycle lanes in my city. Some pople say that they’re short and you can cycle only in some places, but I think that it isn’t true. If you want you can find many interesting paths, such as loess gullies. One day me and my friends found a beautiful place, with a view of the Vistula Valley. We only had to go out of the main way to find it. So try to find your own ways for cycling, because you can find many amazing places 🙂

  13. xelo permalink
    November 23, 2011 10:47 pm

    I also envy Amsterdam Ximo but I think we need to change our mind. Every time I go to Amsterdam I have problems with cyclist because I don’t identify some cycle paths so big they are. As Noemi said Valencia needs a lot of infrastructures still to solve some important problems existing between cyclists, pedestrians and drivers. We must all cooperate to create a good context to live. I recognize that I can’t change easily my mind when I’m a cyclist or a pedestrian o a driver.

Leave a Reply

