Skip to content

Low-cost books

November 6, 2011

If you enjoy reading books but do not have enough money to buy them, don’t worry, I have just found the best solution.

Two spanish young men realized that as a result of the crisis, people give up reading. “Lack of money”, sure. So they had a brilliant idea: to create the website http://www.libroscompartidos.com, where books can be exchanged.

You can feel that books are culture and that is the reason we must keep them on our shelves forever, but if you think about it carefully, not all the books we read are so pleasant for us, or think of those old textbooks that could be used by other students, or, what about the books of fairy tales we bought for our children, now adults? Sharing books is to bring knowledge to others. Really, it is good for everyone.

Therefore, if you are interested in exchanging books, just follow these steps: First, after you have registered, enter the titles of the books you have read and you want to give. Second, check the lists of books, organized by subjects, and find your favorite. Finally, request it and in a few days you will receive the book at home. People living in the same city can avoid delivery charges giving the book in person. This is even a good way to make friends!

At the moment, the web has 1300 members from several cities. And the list is increasing day by day. Therefore, if you are a compulsive reader, this web might be what you expect. Enjoy it!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    November 6, 2011 7:34 pm

    I didn’t know about this page, but it’s very interesting! Now, I’ve seen the website and there are a lot of old and peculiar books. It’s a fabulous way to read free but at the same time, it’s a good way to find specific books there aren’t in a normal library. Thanks Hortensia!

  2. November 7, 2011 12:58 am

    Great post. I have already registered at the web and checked the books. It’s good to know it.

  3. November 7, 2011 1:04 pm

    Nowadays we can find almost everything in internet!!!
    That’s a really good system to read new books without spend money, and as you said, maybe to make new friends too!

  4. Eugenia Ferrer Perez permalink
    November 7, 2011 7:31 pm

    I have more than 100 books, I like reading very much and I was buying them since I was at High School so I have so many that I don´t know where to put them. I´ve got them in the garage as there is no more place in my house and also in my parent´s house but now I think that I´m going to share my old books through this website that way I´ll solve my problem of lack of space.

  5. November 7, 2011 11:43 pm

    It is very useful to find site like this and at the same time it helps you update your library without buying new books, only exchanging them! I will register on next summer, thanks for the tip.

  6. marisadedios permalink*
    November 8, 2011 5:45 pm

    Great post Hortensia! How about swaping books with your classmates? For example, does anybody have “Tiempo entre Costuras”? I could swap it for any of my novels in English.

  7. Lorena Gallego permalink
    November 9, 2011 10:04 pm

    Wonderful website! In my work I have a lot of time to spend in reading. Me and my workmates have a kind of “library” to share books between us. It’s really useful and cheap (what is important nowadays).

    Marisa I read “El Tiempo entre Costuras” two weeks ago, the story catches you since the beginning. I could lend it to you (because it’s not mine, it’s from my flatmate) and when you finish give it back to me. Let me know if you want it, ok?

  8. Filip94 permalink
    November 23, 2011 3:36 pm

    I didn’t know about this website, but in my country we had an action about exchanging books. You had to write on the first page of the book about the action and leave it for example on the bench in park or in a different popular place. Someone will find it, read and leave it for another person. It was a good idea, I even found once a book from this action. But many people didn’t want to leave books, because you can’t know what will happen with them. Someone can read it, but it can also lie on the bench in the rain.

Leave a Reply

