Skip to content

A walk around Bahrain

November 5, 2011

Hi mates:

I am Virginia and this is my first post and I hope you will enjoy it.

Well, I´d like to tell you about Barhain,bacause my husband is now working there (he is building a mall) and I´m learning  a lot of things about this country.

First of all, The Kingdom of Bahrein is an archipelago of 33 islands in the Persian Gulf and it is ruled by Al Khalif royal family. Population 1. 214.705, including 235.108 non- nationals. The largest island ( Bahrain island) is 55 km. long by 18 km. wide (huge!!!).

Most of people knows this country because of the Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix, which takes place at Bahrain International Circuit.

Arabic is official language, though English is widely used and the economy is based on petrol and gas. Islam is the main religion, but there are inhabitants of different beliefs, like Catholics and Jewish. People there are tolerant, it is possible to see a mosque near two churches.

This country is like an “Open Middle East”, because it is a mix of extrem modernism an Persian identity.

Of course I´ll tell you more things about this unknown place when I visit it.

            

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jesarqit permalink
    November 5, 2011 7:14 pm

    I guess it must be a nice experience to visit the country and to know some people there. I´d like to discover what´s going on in that part of the world how they are planning their future economy from the present petrol and gas business.

  2. November 6, 2011 9:15 am

    I don’t know why seeing this pictures it comes to my memory Valencia and Ciudad de las Ciencias.

    Answering to Jesarquit, it seems to me that they have planned their future after petrol, exactly in the same way than we have already planned our future without construction boom: death and destruction

  3. November 7, 2011 12:53 am

    I have to say that I’m one who knows Barhain because of Formula One Grand Prix and when I’m seeing the race I remember, How much money Bahrein people will have? All the buildings, houses, rich people, etc… I’m feeling impressed by the fact of the money they must have. I’d like to know this country and people, arabic rules with big fortunes. It must be an interesting adventure.

  4. sylvyllarta85 permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:19 pm

    Alpa72, it happened the same to me. The second picture is really similar to a a multiple-storey building near “El Saler” shopping centre and “Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias”. They have copied us!

  5. marisadedios permalink*
    November 8, 2011 5:53 pm

    HAHA! Boys, you are amazing! Anyway, the things I am learning with you this year. I had no idea that there existed a country called Bahrain. So first thing I had to do was go to google maps and find it! Thanks Virginia. I’ll feel envious when you go there. Hope you’ll share it with us then and write a nice post about your trip.

Leave a Reply

