Skip to content

Learning through laughing

November 3, 2011

Charlie Chaplin said that a day without laughter is wasted day , what do you think?

I am a big fan of sitcoms and movies and as I watch them in English (with subtitles of course), it has been the best way to improve listening and learning  more English. It takes a little bit to get used to it, but in the end you always end up remembering some words or catchy phrase.

I especially like recommending a show called Saturday Night Live, some of you may have heard of it because it is been on air since 1975. It is a variety live show that every week invites a host to participate in sketches with the cast, usually those hosts are actors /actresses but also sportsmen or even politicians. The sketches are politically incorrect, parodic and sometimes bizarre, still some of them have become part of American popular culture. Obama’s and Sarah Palin’s impersonations for instance are worth youtubing.
Chosing one particular sketch to share with you has been a tough decision, and I know this one is a bit out of date, but as English students I hope you like it. Have fun!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorena Gallego permalink
    November 4, 2011 10:29 pm

    Hahaha!!! God save the queen… Very funny series! I’ll look for more videos on internet, thank you for your recommendation Julia.

  2. Laura permalink
    November 6, 2011 5:59 pm

    I also watch TV series on the internet. I agree with you on watching this kind of things can help us to improve our English. Of course you can’t take it everything they say, but you always learn new expressions and good vocabulary.
    By the way, the sketch is really funny!

  3. franeoivlc permalink
    November 7, 2011 1:22 am

    Very funny… Humour about people who have to be always politically correct is great… I had heard this programme name a lot of times, but I didn’t know what it was about… I will look for more videos, thanks for your suggestion Julia.

  4. sylvyllarta85 permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:09 pm

    So funny! What about Elton John’s role? He has to put up with the Queen’s criticism about her songs!

  5. November 8, 2011 12:05 am

    The title of your post caught my attention, because that’s what I need to learn English, laugh and relax hahahahah I love my English classes, I’ve said, I get stressed by technology but I am learning both, well I guess…

  6. marisadedios permalink*
    November 8, 2011 5:59 pm

    Thanks Julia. I love comedy and it is soo necessary nowadays, isn’t it? I don’t watch much TV nor sitcoms on internet, but I remember I used to find “My family” hilarious, and also another one, “How I met your mother”. And of course, Burnistoun, here’s an example

  7. jesarqit permalink
    November 8, 2011 11:03 pm

    Since the moment I got TDT I nearly tuned every channel in original version. Every film or sitcoms are better when you hear them that way. Lots of new nuances and expressions, somehow, get in your vocabulary. I´ve recently realized that I can even understand some dialogues meanwhile cooking, and that was nearly impossible in the beginning. By the way, thanks for the sketch, it was quite funny.

Leave a Reply

