Skip to content

Puertomingalvo: a jewell of The Maestrazgo

November 2, 2011

Who does not remember Mr. Labordeta showing us the rural corners of this country? He inspired me to go and see a rural area near Valencia this summer. I found a large space that is worth a visit. This zone is called The Maestrazgo and is composed of 43 municipalities across six districts of the province of Teruel.

One of its biggest attractions is its hiking trails, short-haul routes where you can explore places with authentic charm, natural viewpoints and miles of dry stone structure. I had a relaxing stroll along one of the long paths between La Iglesuela del Cid and neighboring Villafranca del Cid. It was great!

A special place that does not leave you indifferent is Puertomingalvo. Abandoned for centuries, this village is nowadays one of the best preserved villages in the Maestrazgo region. Its views are a natural balcony to the Mediterranean.

De 19 de octubre de 2011

Apart from its spectacular setting, its gastronomy should be noted. Homemade food produced from natural products. For instance, Entreportales Hostel in Puertomingalvo is highly recommended.  If you are interested in the  gastronomy of the whole area you can find good references here. But, let me suggest some interesting places: The Pensión Julián in Cantavieja I’ve been there twice and it was excellent. I also recommend the Buj and the Balfagón Hotel (more fashionable) in Cantavieja.

If you fancy a relaxing break outdoors, do not hesitate, go there and enjoy your trip! Do not forget to bring a jumper because there is a significant temperature difference , even in summer.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 9:44 pm

    Really it’s a beautiful area. There are another interesting villages in the path from Morella to Mora Rubielos. One of my favourites it’s Mirambel. The time seems to be stopped five hundreds years ago in this village

  2. angel puchol permalink
    November 3, 2011 9:27 am

    Hi, Susana.

    I love Cantavieja where you can visit the trade cattle at the end of september ( I think it is the last week of september but I’m not sure).
    Balfagon restaurant is a good one (rabit a la braza,…), although it is a little expensive.

    See you.

  3. November 3, 2011 12:27 pm

    Hi Alpa72,
    Besides its architectural heritage, I’d say that Mirambell hides one of their secrets in the original cable system of street lighting and telephone. You will (not) find any wires visible neither on the streets nor in the front of the houses.

  4. November 3, 2011 5:38 pm

    Trade cattle! It sounds really exciting!. I’ll bear in mind your suggestion for next year.
    About Balfagón, I didn’t go there. At the moment I cant’ afford to pay expensive bills, though as you say it’s very reputable. Maybe if we weren’t in this economic crisis I would go to celebrate some special event, Who knows?
    Thanks, Angel. We’ll be in touch.

  5. November 3, 2011 10:53 pm

    Hi Susana. It’s funny, I work in a telco and I didn’t notice what you told about cables!

  6. Xelo permalink
    November 3, 2011 11:26 pm

    If you like trade cattle, I recommend you that of Cedrillas in Teruel. It is one of the most important, and takes place every year in October first. As well as cattle, there are other interesting things like foodstuffs, clothes, nougat candy or canes. Every year a lot of people go to the fair, so it’s very difficult to park the car.

  7. November 7, 2011 8:24 pm

    Sometimes I’ve gone to “El Maestrazgo” to visit some of the villages which are in the province of Castellón. From my point of view they are beautiful, though unfortunately there are increasingly fewer people living in them because of the fact that there aren’t jobs for qualified young people. Most people work in jobs related to agriculture or livestock.
    I think that the interior of the province of Castellón is fantastic. Nowadays, there are a lot of town councils doing everything possible to attract tourists as the city councils of Morella, San Mateo, Segorbe, Villafamés, etc. For this reason, they have restored a lot of historic buildings such as castles, palaces, etc., and even the ancient village walls. They also organize fairs and gastronomic festivals in collaboration with some of the restaurants of their villages.
    In my opinion, not only the villages are beautiful, but also the nature around them. Therefore, whenever I can, I go to do trekking to “La Sierra Calderona” or “La Sierra de Espadán”. And sometimes I go to do cycling to “La via de Ojos Negros”, an old railway line that ran from the mines in Teruel to the industry located in Puerto de Sagunto, which is conditioned to be used for walking and cycling.

  8. marisadedios permalink*
    November 8, 2011 6:05 pm

    Thanks for such interesting post and comments. I love El Maestrazgo. In fact, there are SO many very beautiful small towns scattered all over the Valencian community, aren’t there? I remember how impressed I was by Vilafamés castle!

Leave a Reply

