Skip to content

Beach or Mountain, that’s the question?

October 31, 2011

Probably one of the questions that you think for choosing your summer holidays is to choose between going to the beach or to the mountain. But I am pretty sure that you, most of the times, prefer to go to the beach.

Unfortunately for me, I spent last summer working almost all day, even at the weekends. Therefore, I could not go anywhere far from Valencia so I decided to live halfway between Valencia and my beach apartment in Puzol beach. But one day one of my best friends recommended me to go to a wonderful place of the Valencian Community. And I had the chance to change my timetable with one of my workmates.

I am going to describe one of the best places I have ever gone. It is one of the most visited coastal zones close to Alicante. It took us about two hours to get there. One disadvantage for us was that at the end, the road winds about a lot. But there was the only problem I found while driving until this lovely place.

Once you get there you have to park on a hill near the water and go down in order to get to flat ground. Then, you need to wear appropriate water shoes because this kind of beach covered in pebbles, not sandy as we are used to in our beaches.

The water is completely clear, almost crystalline, you can see the deep down the sea. My friends and I did snorkelling there and that was astonishing. The place is so cozy and friendly. You can have lunch there in a refreshment stall but I have to tell you that everything from this kiosk is more expensive than it used to be.

The mountain part of the “Cala del moraig” has perfect views, as you can see in the picture. Crazy and brave people use to dive into the water. People use to record their jumps and then upload them to the net.

At the end you can have the best of both worlds in just one trip. This is not expensive and you can do it in just one day, for those of you that have to work like I did.

 

MArisa I want to add a picture of me in that place and I don’t know how to do it, can you help me please?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Eugenia Ferrer Perez permalink
    October 31, 2011 11:05 pm

    Oh my god! Those jumps were really impressive and the colour of the water looks like the Caribean sea. Where exactly is Cala Moraig? I´ve been to Javea and Altea but I haven´t heard about this cala and it seems a perfect place to swim.

  2. November 1, 2011 8:04 pm

    Those jumps causes me great anguish¡ I prefer to swim. I agree with you, Cala Moraig is spectacular. Give us its coordinate, please.

  3. Lydia Carrasco permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:14 pm

    It seems amazing!!! wow!!! it’s wonderful!!! Thanks for your comment!!! (and your videos)

  4. marisa permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:23 pm

    Wow! I am not sure you should have shared this with all of us. HEY guys, I know where we’ll all meet next summer!

  5. marisa permalink
    November 1, 2011 11:26 pm

    If the picture is yours, send it to me by email and I’ll add it. If it is from internet, just copy and paste the url

  6. November 2, 2011 1:23 am

    It’s a really nice place!!! I love beach so… yes, I would also like to know where it is exactely located!
    Last year I was in an excursion doing water-canyoning (i’m not sure if it’s written like this) and I had to jump a few times, although I was completely scared, I liked it a lot. However, any of the jumps was like the one in the video!!! ufff I couldn’t do it! I prefer just to lie and sunbathing!

  7. bealco7 permalink
    November 2, 2011 11:37 am

    The place is in Benitachel near Moraira. And once you get there you have to ask for “La cumbre del sol” and you’ll find it in less than 5 minutes by car. There are so many beautiful places in our community but we have to discover them all!!😉

  8. virginia permalink
    November 2, 2011 2:07 pm

    Amazing place!!! I know it since I was a child, because I’ ve grown up in Denia, nearby Las cumbres del sol. A lot of good greetings from this place.

  9. bealco7 permalink
    November 2, 2011 8:38 pm

    how lucky you are Virginia!!🙂
    I’m sure that I’m going to go again next summer because I want to jump!!🙂

  10. November 2, 2011 10:10 pm

    I also spent one day in Cala Moraig this summer. But the sea was too brave that day for snorkling ;-(

  11. Cynthia permalink
    November 8, 2011 1:33 pm

    Wowwwwwwww!!!! Amazing the video of the jump!! I would like to go next summer and jump (I’ve done jumps like this one in Llavorsí, Pirineos catalanes, in a multi-adventure weekend!)

    P.S.: I highly recommend to do things like this ones, at least, once in your life. You can start with a little jump and see what happens…Who knows…maybe you’ll become a jump aholic!!!

    Thank’s a lot bealco7!!!!

Leave a Reply

