Skip to content

5 months later, what do you think about 15M?

October 30, 2011
tags:

I’m absolutely sure that all of you know about this movement which refuses the idea of being a movement. In fact, in my opinion, this is one of the 15M’s biggest problem. I must recognize that I’ve been very interested in it. At the beginning I was really optimistic and I told myself that 15M could be the piece that our society needed to be a real democracy. But now I’m so sceptical.

First of all, I’m sceptical because, although I consider that our democracy need to change, like most people do, I also consider that 15M and people who are acting with this movement are not as prepared as they think. We can’t forget that to take an active part in society is not easy: you need to be really well prepared, well informed, you need…  so you need to ‘waste’ a lot of your free time, and that’s hard. I think that most of 15M’s people think that we need only to change some structures and some laws, but if we want to have a good society, we must fight for it every day, and that’s no so easy. It’s true, our politicians have to change their minds, but so do we.

So, I think that 15M is important in the sense that it has been able to take the people to the street and make them think and talk about politics. But now, we must act, and we have to begin to get informed and to be participative.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Erika permalink
    October 31, 2011 11:29 am

    I totally agree with this post, 15M it´s been a movement that should go further to achieve important things that allow makes happier to our society.

    I don´t think the organizers are not prepared enough, of course they are, but they should realize that, they have to take active part on it, for instance, creating a new brand of politicians…

    Go on 15M!!!

  2. jesarqit permalink
    November 1, 2011 7:06 pm

    Unfortunately, I´ve the same impression today that eh one I had since the very first moment. Although I was very interested in the movement as a social reaction about the situation against politics and economy situation, I already had the feeling, and I could read some articles in the same line, that it´s big success was it´s main weakness. The reaction against the system joined lots of people from different ideologies but as soon as they tried to write them down, to chose the action lines or even to find an image, icon o flag, the people didn´t manage to agree on them and of course they couldn´t achieve any of their goals. It´s necessary that they find the mechanisms within the system to transform it from inside, otherwise good intentions will end there, and society need facts to believe in and something real to get involved in the change.

  3. marisa permalink
    November 2, 2011 12:29 am

    Do you think there might be an opportunity in the next general election?

  4. angel puchol permalink
    November 2, 2011 3:07 pm

    Hi,everyone. At least, I think that 15M mmovement have served to show that:

    a) people are fed up with the present system
    b) people are not idiot or dropout
    c) many people in the world think like us
    .
    .
    .
    and much and much more.

    I would like to recommend you a book named: “Reacciona” by among others writers: Jose Luis Sampedro, Federico Mayor Zaragoza, Rosa María Artal…

    Enjoyed it

  5. November 2, 2011 10:28 pm

    Answering to Marisa, I think that next general election will not change anything because local governments don’t govern, capital markets do it for them. Do you agree?

    What do you think when politicians say that referendum in Greece is democratic but what it’s really democratic is to vote? For me it sounds similar to this: give me your vote and shut up! I don’t care what you think; I only need your vote for justify my position .

    I’m very disappointed with politicians and euphemisms they use continuously. Have you heard the last one? In a german bank an accounting error of 52.000M€ has been emerged. They have considered it as an small error. How they would have considered if the error would have been arised in a spanish bank? I tell you: a trick!

Leave a Reply

