Skip to content

How to find your way in life?

October 22, 2011

Hi everyone,

“You can change your life in a dance class, 250 teenagers who have never danced before”. I’m writing about a documentary that is fantastic, in my opinion.I like it a lot and it’s called “Rhythm is it”. It records the first big educational project of the “Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra” under Sir Simon Rattle.

The Orchestra ventured out of the tower of high culture into the boroughs of low life for the sake of 250 youngsters. They had been strangers to Classical Music but after hard thrilling preparation they dance to Stravinsky’s “The Rite of spring”.

 

 

Although some teenagers were about to abandon, the film shows the deepest ego in humans. Your character is revealed even in the way you move.

I’m a big fan of Simon Rattle and the Berlin Orchestra,as well as Stravinsky and his “Rite of Spring”. All of them show how a different method of work can get  people to overcome difficulties. While it is true that we are speaking of a famous orchestra, conductor and choreographer, the most important here is that the project is carried out with frustrated young people, giving them more confidence, a feeling of discipline and hard work, getting them to discover how funny real life can be, making them feel comfortable with their body, with themselves.

At the end the film is moving. As a result I got an important message: find out what you want and work hard for it. Believe in yourself and never be satisfied with what you have achieved, you can always learn more.

If you don’t find the film, I have it. I can share with you or you can make a copy in case you are interested.

I hope you like it…

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    October 22, 2011 2:29 pm

    Juan Miguel, a big thank you for sharing this with us. I had not heard of this project, which I think is amazing – 250 teenagers from all over the world! I love the videos I have seen on youtube and will be looking forward to borrowing the film from you next week. I am sure the participant youngsters will never forget such an incredible experience and in many cases it will have certainly changed their lives.

  2. jesarqit permalink
    October 22, 2011 4:12 pm

    It seems to be a nice initiative, a process that for sure worth a watch. I specially like the cross view, how through dancing they can learn how to face life and achieve whatever they want to get. I´m sure it can be hard for some of them to guess how to transfer this experience to something else, however what they know in the end it´s that they can reach it.

  3. eugenia34 permalink
    October 22, 2011 7:34 pm

    It´s incredible how those youngsters seem like professional dancers! I guess they have worked very hard to learn the technique.
    This project remembers me the other project “learning service” as in both of them young people can apply what they learn to face life difficulties, discipline them and make them more responsible.

  4. Laura permalink
    October 23, 2011 5:41 pm

    It seems to be a wonderful project and I think the best is that it encourages this youngsters to do whatever they want in their life, because they’re able to get it.
    It’s also amazing to see how people who aren’t professional dancers can express so well the esence of such a complex piece like Stravinsky’s Rite of Spring.

  5. October 24, 2011 1:06 am

    Hello,
    “Your character is revealed even in the way you move”. This statement makes me be curious and as Marisa I will be looking forward to borrowing the film from you, too. Or let me know where I can download the film. I believe this project will help changing youngsters’ behavior to face their future and overcome problems. It’s really strange how arts can change our lives.

  6. October 24, 2011 7:10 pm

    I find it very interesting. I think that dancing is a form of expression and very deep, personal communication, thanks to which you can come to value more your body and how through music may surprise you.

  7. Lorena Gallego permalink
    October 24, 2011 9:58 pm

    Have you seen the film “Take the lead”? Starring by Antonio Banderas as Pierre Dulain, a famous ballroom dancer and dance instructor who developed Dancing Classrooms, a social development program for 5th grade children that uses ballroom dancing as a vehicle to change the lives of the children and their families.

    It reminds me the film starring by Michelle Pfeiffer “Dangerous minds” but about dance. It’s amazing how these young people are able to express their emotions and feelings with dance and how they learn to communicate each other.

  8. juanmlb permalink
    October 25, 2011 10:59 am

    Don’t worry alicab1311 about that. I’ve lend the film to Marisa. When Marisa gives me back you can take it away.

    On the other hand, thank you Lorena for your information. I haven’t seen this film but it seems interesting. I’ll look for it and I’ll see it. I like to see young people work hard to get something in their lifes although it dosn’t easy sometimes.

  9. camarae permalink
    October 27, 2011 4:22 am

    I´m completely agree with this article and I´m will be glad to see both films. I have done some courses related with dance which is called “Biodynamique Dance”, and it´s incredible the things that you can show about your personality only with your movements, you can express your feelings dancing and it´s a good therapy to improve your life.

  10. Cynthia permalink
    October 27, 2011 9:43 pm

    How amazing!!!! It’s a shame we don’t have in Spain this kind of things…maybe educational programmes should include activities like those ones!!!

  11. camarae permalink
    November 3, 2011 3:36 am

    Juan Miguel, congratulations again for this article, I have seen the film this weekend and it´s fantastic!, I´ve enjoyed a lot with it and with the message of the film, it´s very interesting, and at the same time I´m really sattisfied with myself beacause it has been a good lesson for improve my english and german too. I think that i´m going to see it again.

  12. November 7, 2011 12:15 am

    Thanks “camarae”. When I saw the film the first time I was impressed and I have seen the film two times more because is fantastic. I’m happy to share the same feelings with my English partners and to know you have enjoyed it. Thanks for your comments.

    I have to add I have seen the film “Take the lead” I’ve enjoyed the film too. I’m deeply moved when I see the people work hard to reach one goal in their life.

Leave a Reply

