Skip to content

As a tourist one

October 12, 2011

             After the longest five  years I  have ever been away from my family, I finally could  hug them all,  all my feelings mixed up, crying-laughing, telling the same story once and again, meeting new members and missing those who passed away.

When I returned to my country, Venezuela,  all I wanted  to do was  smell it, feel it, live the way we live there, see the people at the rush hour,  running to catch a bus, and then going on it  “tinned like sardines”, they  are always overcrowded and the subway too. Despite the fact that I had always had a car or taken a taxi, this time I’d commute this way (my husband didn’t agree, haha!), eat our food and  our different kinds of fruit  and of course, tour around the country.

   We planned the trip, from Maracaibo, Zulia State,   my city, ligthning forever, due to a meteorological phenomenon   called “Relámpago del Catatumbo”  till   “La Gran Sabana“, where there is the highest waterfall, called Salto Angel, in Bolívar State.  Have you ever seen the film “Ups”     , and to its beaches (2.800 kms of cost)  and Margarita Island

,

 We went through different weather, from hot to cold (Mérida) ,  dry to rain, even  to a big-crowded-up-side-down city, like Caracas. Finally, after five months, we came back to Valencia.  Next time I go back I’ll be a backpacker, it’s cheaper and I’ll be in my own land as a tourist.

Hope you enjoy yourselves reading this as I have done writing it!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    October 12, 2011 7:13 pm

    A moving post Alina. I cannot even imagine how hard it must be to live so far away from those you love and not beeing able to see them frequently. Fortunately, now it is so cheap to phone and to skype, do you skype with them?

  2. Jessica permalink
    October 12, 2011 8:21 pm

    Hi Alina! I also lived away from my family during a short time, and it was hard. And when I went back, I also felt like a stange, like a tourist in my own town. When I’ve read your post, I’ve remembered the same feelings that you explain.

  3. October 13, 2011 12:53 am

    When you click the link “Ups” and if it doesn’t open, because of an error 404, try this: on that web (BBC MUNDO) go to “sociedad y cultura” then in the box search write “Venezuela llega a Disney” and there it is, I hope…you can see the comment of those who did the film.
    Marisa how can I skipe? I phone my sisters but my nephews and nieces have told me to download it.

  4. lidiaeb permalink
    October 16, 2011 1:26 pm

    Hi Alina.
    As Jessica says I identified with you. And It´s hard being far away from your family and friends but fortunately as Marisa says “Tech is with us”, Whatsapp, Skipe, Highways, Low Cost Company Flights……

  5. October 17, 2011 11:43 pm

    Hi Alina!

    I think the good moments are appreciated more when you have had other bad ones. I noticed how happy you were during your trip and good for you.

  6. October 26, 2011 2:26 pm

    Even though I´ve never be away from home more than 1 month, I share your view. It must be really hard being away for so long. On the other hand, there´s something weird that happens to me when I´m abroad and near the sea: the smell is different, I mean, I always miss the smell of the Mediterranean sea. It smells so different and especial…

Leave a Reply

