Skip to content

The real protagonist in ‘The King’s Speech? is ………

October 9, 2011

Beethoven!   Yes, I certainly think so!    Why?

I watched the film five or six months ago and I got stunned by its last 15 minutes, when de King – finally!- is able to pronounce his first speech on the radio leading the country through war. That’s the peak, the moment in which emotion reaches its full extent.

In my opinion all in the film is oriented to prepare us for that great moment. Neither the king’s story, nor the characters, nor the actors or settings are important. Only the speech …… and the music matter!

Yesterday I revised those las 15 minutes and saw it clearly : the speech previous electric and expectant atmosphere is created by the music, and when de King’s speech starts, its extent is perfectly adapted to a complete part of the Beethoven 7th Simphony 2nd movement (Allegretto), and then, during the touching final walk of King through the balcony receiving congratulations from different, again all that ‘tempo’ is perfectely adapted to the first part (played by the orchestra) of the Beethoven Piano Concert N0. 5-II Adagio. And finally, the film ends with a front view of de King on the blacony just in the moment in which the piano starts its wonderful solo.

And you, spectator, remain there watching the cast scrolling trying to read the song names and listening, listening, listening ………. to Beethoven!

(You can check it playing the film in your computer, and listening to Beethoven below)

Thank you!

Vicente Hernándiz

6 Comments leave one →
  1. marisa permalink
    October 9, 2011 7:37 pm

    Thank you so much Vicente for drawing our attention to this fact. Too often I don’t realize how extremely important music is in so many things. What a wonderful video you have selected, Zimmerman directed by Bernstein!

    By the way, I feel VERY proud that you have managed your first post, I hope this will just be the onset of a non-stop blogger!

  2. October 10, 2011 10:24 am

    Hi. The King´s Speech is one of my favourite film I´seem this year. My expectations were high after the Oscars and it didn´t dissappointed, furthermore, I loved it. I have no idea about Vicente´s information. It´s really interesting this performance. I´ll try it again…. Bye

  3. Ana María permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:25 am

    I’ve seen this film recently and I haven’t noticed the importance of music on it. I’ve found your musical appreciation really interesting and I will try to watch the film again to notice it.
    Thanks!!!

  4. Eugenia Ferrer Perez permalink
    October 10, 2011 1:59 pm

    I´m really impressed by your post and not only by the information you give us but for the extremely well written that it is; I´m writting my first post but after reading yours I think mine is too plain and I´m going to improve it. Congratulations!!

  5. October 10, 2011 5:46 pm

    Hi Vicente, It must be marvellous to have your musical knowledge to enjoy films in such a way. I hope I’ll be able to learn music in my next life (I think it’s too late for me and my ears at my forties to start learning now).

    Only an objection: I haven’t seen the film yet and I think it’s late also for watching the film now that I know the end… It’s a joke; in this case the end is well-known😉

  6. LOLES JORRO permalink
    October 10, 2011 7:36 pm

    Congratulations for this writing.I love music in the films. And your videos are very good for relax and switch off children. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

