Skip to content

Laura’s first post

October 7, 2011

Hello!

I’m Laura Benlloch, and I’ll write about cinema in my first post.  Cinema is one of my hobbies. I go to the Cinestudio d’Or almost every weekend. I discovered a wonderful film two weeks ago and I’d like to share it with you.

The film I’d like to recommend is ‘Beginners’, an American independent film directed by Mike Mills. I didn’t know this director, but I think I’m going to see other films by him from now on if all his films are like this.

All begins when the main character (roled by Ewan McGregor) finds out that his father (Christopher Plummer) is gay and has terminal cancer. The film is a deep and also comic look at the human being, with a wonderful aesthetic and a fantastic OST which involves you in all the scenes of the movie.

In spite of this big discovery, my favourite director is Woody Allen. His last film, Midnight in Paris, is one of the most beautiful films I’ve ever seen. It’s true that his recent work is quite different from his first films. I’ll never forget the first time I saw “Manhattan”. I remember clearly how I felt after having seen it. I didn’t understand anything, but I enjoyed every detail of this amazing film. Nowadays, I’m a great fan of Woody Allen and all his work.

That’s it and I wish you enjoy my post.

See you!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    October 7, 2011 2:20 pm

    Thanks Laura, I haven’t seen any of the films you recommend, but I’ll try to watch them soon!

  2. October 7, 2011 4:17 pm

    Hi, Laura, Woody Allen is a director who always surprise me too

  3. sylvyllarta85 permalink
    October 7, 2011 11:33 pm

    What an strange feeling Laura!! You didn’t undertand nothing about “Manhattan” but you love it!! 😉

  4. October 7, 2011 11:59 pm

    A woman from my class told me about the Cinestudio d’Or at the beginnig of the course, i didn’t know it! About Woody Allen…. you love him or you hate him! jajaja
    I haven’t watch a lot of his films. I didn’t like them at all…

  5. October 8, 2011 12:56 am

    I think he is a better musician than a film director. I remember,long time ago, I saw “Looking for Mr. Good Bar”, could it be the title of the film? and another one that I don’t remember the title, but anyway, both I didn’t understand. Next time I see one I would like you to explain it to me, would you, please? Maybe Manhattan and then I can give an opinion.

  6. Laura permalink
    October 8, 2011 10:24 am

    The first time I saw Manhattan, I didn’t understand the plot or the end, but I realized that after having seen it,I liked to research into George Gershwin music, New York and films which talk about love but aren’t romantic comedies…And Woody Allen is a master in this kind of plots!
    Alicab, I’m afraid “Looking for Mr. Good Bar” is not a Woody Allen film. I think you should give him another chance! Choose one of his films and afterwards we can discuss it.

  7. October 8, 2011 10:04 pm

    Woody Allen forms part of the history of cinema, maybe you can´t connect with his movies because of his very personal style…but if you are not a fan try with MATCH POINT and let Scarlett seduces you… 😛

  8. October 9, 2011 1:51 pm

    Hi Laura
    I´ve enjoy your post and I´d like to watch the film as Ewan MacGregor is one of my favourite actors; Although I don´t have much free time to go out to the cinema. I´ll try to download it and see it next week.
    If I could do it I´d write again
    Bye!

  9. Xelo permalink
    October 9, 2011 4:28 pm

    I really like Woody Allen. I have seen some of his films, but not “Midnight in Paris”, although I’ll try to see it. I remember very pleasantly “Match Point” but my favorite film is “Small Time Crooks”. I use it in the Strategic Management class, to explain that sometimes success is not related to strategy.

  10. October 10, 2011 6:57 pm

    I also likes very much Woody Allen although his latest films are most likely a Pilot Guide than a film

Leave a Reply

