Skip to content

GOLDEN PARACHUTE

October 7, 2011
by

Do you know the meaning of “golden parachute” ?

If you don’t, maybe you’ll be all your life a simple worker with some periods of unemployment between jobs. That’s my case. Fortunatly I’m not unemployed yet, but as almost of us I’m between the devil and the deep blue sea. Well, except 5  million  unemployed that are being sunk in the deep blue sea

You can learn the meaning of this idiom  in wikipedia:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_parachute

4 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    October 7, 2011 2:25 pm

    Thanks Alberto. I have to confess I had no idea what this was called. However, I think I remember about some top executives being paid a golden parachute even after leading a company to bankrupcy, am I right?

  2. Xelo permalink
    October 9, 2011 6:26 pm

    Recently fired Hewlett-Packard CEO Leo Apotheker will receive an exit package worth more than $13 million, not bad considering he has been the company’s CEO for less than 11 months and during this period, company market value dropped by nearly $40 billion. For the Spanish case, crisis has exposed millionaires “golden parachute” for the CAM managers that have contributed to its bankruptcy.

  3. October 10, 2011 6:25 pm

    Thanks Xelo for your comment and for your “I like” 😉

    Marisa, unfortunately, you must not search very much to find some examples. Just look at the right frame and you can read news like this:

    http://www.elpais.com/articulo/english/Novacaixagalicia/makes/scandalous/payoffs/to/three/top/executives/elpepueng/20111005elpeng_4/Ten

    Anyway, I had not finished my post! I had written only a few phrases last class on PC room and I hadn’t submitted it to revision.

    Anyway, it’s no problem. I have thought about an interesting idea but I will need the collaboration of all the group to develop it. I will post next weekend if I have time

  4. angel puchol permalink
    October 12, 2011 10:59 am

    Hi Alberto,
    please one question, what is the traslation of “Golden parachute”? It refers to “Beneficios sociales” or about “Finiquito de contrato blindado”.

    I want to ask for one golden parachute, next Christmas.

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

