Skip to content

Steve Jobs’s speech. Listening comprehension

October 6, 2011

 

 

Hi!

The first time I watched this speech I was most impressed and I decided to prepare this interactive listening exercise which I have now been using for years. Now, after his death, it means even more to me. I have been listening to this speech today again and I can’t avoid feeling he was a visionary, somebody whose advice in this speech I should follow. It is so deep, so true, I  think he really teaches us a lesson. Besides,  it is not only what he says, but the way he delivers his speech that struck me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and find the exercise useful. Just click on the image to get started.

Life is so short we should make the most of it.

I am looking forward to reading everybody’s comments.

Finally, this

amazing exercise

: Now you can listen to Steve, choose whether you want to follow with subtitles or without them , then click on “autoplay” for the video to stop after each line so that you record yourself, compare your recording with Steve’s, study pronunciation word by word, sound by sound, learn vocabulary, practice vocabulary related to the video. What else can you ask for? just click on the image

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Virginia Perez permalink
    February 7, 2011 12:12 am

    I had already listened to this speech. He’s not only a very bright and intelligent man (I consider him a visionary), he’s also a great speaker.

  2. Beatriz permalink
    February 7, 2011 9:47 am

    Hi! I listenned to this speech but i can’t see the interactive listening exercices.

  3. Trini Sayas permalink
    February 7, 2011 10:38 am

    Hi!! I have just listened to this speech and I am feeling so impressed. He says some interesting things like “You need to trust in something…””You have to love what you do..”Sometimes you need to decide to start over…”. Steve Jobs encourages peolple, and students to follow themselves in life but he sums all up saying: Stay hungry, saty foolish…

  4. marisadedios permalink*
    February 7, 2011 1:45 pm

    Yes, most impressive, it is used in MBAs as an example. By the way, you were right, there was a problem with the links which I hope is sorted now.

  5. February 7, 2011 8:30 pm

    Yeah girls!! Like i said in class, this video it makes my skin crawl. I say to me everyday:’ If Iwant it, I can do it’

  6. marisadedios permalink*
    February 9, 2011 1:55 am

    Sorry folks! I think the link to the exercise does work now.

  7. Leonor permalink
    October 7, 2011 12:12 am

    Just AMAZING! To be honest, I’ve never been a big follower of Apple’s products until the last two months, when I bought my first one, ipad 2, and got really impressed.
    I just knew Steve Jobs for being the man presenting the different versions of Apple’s products. I didn’t know about his great capability of communicating with people and transmitting feelings at the same time. This video has certainly left me touched.

  8. jesarqit permalink
    October 7, 2011 2:14 am

    It’s the second or even third time I’ve heard that speech. First time, I found it from a list with the best speeches in history. I really enjoy to hear people’s ideas, and trully admire those who find the way to reach there dreams and share them with so much enthusiasm. Since I watched it, I try to keep in mind the last quote “Stay hungry, stay foolish!” next to that Apple’s slogan thats states: “think different”.

  9. LOLES JORRO permalink
    October 7, 2011 11:31 am

    Sometimes, the things that happened around you are conected:my new computer, my new teacher of english, ..my news “forty” and now this speech…all things together makes me think: Life is in front of you, live it.

  10. October 7, 2011 11:57 am

    I was moved when I watched this video for the first time and now,I’m very affected by watching it again after his death. He was a genius.

  11. October 7, 2011 1:22 pm

    It’s a really good speech and it made me feel good and brave enough to think about doing things that you dont usually think you could do because it’s not the normal behaviour or because it’s not what people like your family or friends expect from you.
    I dont think that we ask to our selves if we are happy or not with our life, but it’s definetely something that we should do. We just live once…

  12. Laura permalink
    October 8, 2011 4:55 pm

    It’s a great execise with a great speech! It’s good that someone like Steve Jobs reminds us that we have to live our own live.

  13. Ana María permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:11 am

    Apart from de brilliant structure and high quality of the speech, I have found it really moving and sensitive. Sometimes, we are so concentrating on superficial things, “secondary” things as Jobs says, that we cannot see the truly important things. It is important to know that nowadays we have the oportunity to choose whatever we want to do and, in this way, we have to think about what it’s going to make us certainly happy.

  14. cincocor permalink
    October 13, 2011 9:49 pm

    Now I’m going to tell you my own story. It starts last week, when I found myself listening to this link. I’ve never heard about Steve Jobs before but his words left me speechless. So, I decided to pass it to my brother you konw, trying to melt his heart a little bit (he’s always in a bad mood) and… what happened? Twenty minutes later he phoned me and his first words were…I love you! =D

  15. stelauso permalink
    November 24, 2014 4:20 pm

    Thanks a million for this very interesting speech ! Have you put the keys to the speech with the blanks anywhere ?

Trackbacks

  1. Rooney’s Euro place at risk | Manchester United Schedule and Fixtures

Leave a Reply

