Skip to content

Jet Lag

April 4, 2011
tags:

‘The other day, when I read the articule from DST, I remenbered another effect that it’s callled ‘Jet Lag’. That effect is an imbalance between one person’s internal clock and the new timetable that is stablished when you fly long distances across several hourly regions. For example: from Valencia to New York.

‘Jet Lag’ is a mixture of weariness and other symptoms provoked by a trip in that it crosses several hourly regions.Our organism isn’t ready to work day and night. The action of sunlight, overall the melanina, crosses the neurotransmitters. A lot of corporal processes are ruled by this ‘physiological 24- hour clock’ .

This cycle of activity every 24 hours it’s called ‘Circadian pace’. If you travel to another time slot, the circadian pace  can be distorted, which can provoke physical disorders sharpened by the own weariness that such a trip produces.

Have you  ever suffered this? What do you think about this?

I suffered it once when I travelled from Madrid to Costa Rica, and it isn’t so terrible!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Seguer permalink
    April 6, 2011 1:24 pm

    Hi Pilar,
    I am happy to read your article.
    I consider you have explained very well “The circadian pace” syndrome and I agree with you when you talk about these physical disorders that it can provoke. But if there is some differences between The circadian pace syndrome and the DST, it could be that travelling is a personal decision (in general) but the DST is an imposition!

  2. eulaliape permalink
    April 6, 2011 8:01 pm

    Hi Pilar, your article is quite interesting. And as Anna says you have done a hihly clear description of the process. As far as jet lag I travelled to South America in 1992, 16 hours by plane in that time. And in my case I didn´t suffer jet lag. However, when I was coming back from Domenican Republic, after holidays, I remember suffering jet lag, I felt tired and I wanted to sleep a lot, and I also had headache. And mostly the friends who I travelled with were suffering the same symtoms. So, in my opinion suffer jet lag it could depend on different circumstances. The same happens with DST, there people who are affected by this change and others don´t realise any consequence.

  3. May 29, 2012 7:02 pm

    Do youve a spam issue on this internet site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; weve created some good strategies and were looking to swap solutions with other folks, be certain to blast me an e-mail if serious.

Leave a Reply

