Skip to content

The Price is no longer an excuse not to read in English. Second-hand shops.

March 20, 2011

The price isn´t an excuse not to read in English!
Second-hand shops.

Hi everybody, for all of you who love to read novels I want  to recommend  to you a second hand book shop where you can find books in English and also in French, German and other languages. You can find present-day literature, practically news books for a very cheap price, one or two Euros. It is amazing, isn´t it?
In my case I have been very lucky because I have bought highly interesting books. Just to mention some of them I have got The kite Runner from Khaled Hosseini. As the journalist Diane Sawyer has said “It is an astonishing, powerful book” and Entertainment Weekly wrote “ A moving portrait of Afghanistan, from its pre-Russian-invasion glory through the terrible reign of the Taliban” .
Another book is This Charming Man from Marian Keyes. Despite she is a best seller writer, I do not consider her books such a good literature but I enjoy them reading in summer. I add a presentation from Marian Keyes in case you want to know more about this book:

Another book I have bought is one by Sue Townsend and her famous character Adrian Mole, Adrian Mole and the Weapons of Mass Destruction. Last year I discovered Sue Townsend books when I read “The lost diaries of Adrian Mole”, one of the funniest book I have ever read. In my opinion Sue Townsend is a very good writer with a wonderful sense of irony and humor.
Her last book is appearing now in books shops. For instance, in Casa del Libro you can find it a its normal price.
ADRIAN MOLE: THE PROSTRATE YEARS
TOWNSEND, SUE
MICHAEL JOSEPH (PENGUIN)

Well, my intention was not make a review about the books that I have got but give you an idea of the good opportunities that we have to buy in this good second-hand shops. Despite the fact that in this kind of shops you never know what you can find, I believe to try it is whortwhile perhaps you are lucky and it will make your day!. So I encourage you to go!. I think that making suggestions  is always a good thing.
I know that there is another second hand book shop run by an Englishperson in the city center, it is close to the Cathedral, but I don´t remember exactly the address. This book shop is nicer and you can find more titles, but the price is cheaper than new but not as much as the previous one mentioned.
So, take note:
Justoprice (Compra y Venta)
c/ Justo y Pastor, 21-23.
46021 Valencia.
96/3392240
Another shopl in Valencia:
c/Ruzafa,20.
96/5940652
e-mail: just-price@yahoo.es

I hope you find marvelous books!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. marisadedios permalink*
    March 20, 2011 7:49 pm

    Thank you Eulalia, I didn’t know any of the bookshoops you mention so next time I go to the city centre I’ll certainly pop in.

  2. Lolita permalink
    March 21, 2011 12:19 pm

    Thank you Eulalia!
    Your suggestion is very interesting!
    In the crisis time the price of everything is higly important and if we have the oportunity to enjoy reading two books with the only one book price it’s enjoy twice. Thanks again.

  3. Anna Seguer permalink
    March 24, 2011 7:59 pm

    Hi Eulalia,
    Amazing! You are full of surprises.I was delighted to read your article.I didn’t know any of these bookshoops.One of these days I’ll visit any of them. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

