Skip to content

FALL OF THE GIANTS PROJECT

December 15, 2010

I have to say I am quite pleased with the first activity we did: share opinions of the first three chapters and the beginning of the book in general. If you are reading the book, we would love to listen, watch or read  your comment in our voicethread. Just click on comment

Vodpod videos no longer available.

On Friday the 10th, we discussed the first chapters  in more detail.

What next? We have agreed to read till chapter 7 for after Christmas. This time it won’t be the teacher the one who will prepare the questions for discussion, but you, the students. Just click here and start giving ideas What would you like to talk about in our session in January?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. sonidelu87 permalink
    December 16, 2010 3:51 pm

    My first impression of the book is quite good. I like this kind of historical books, and for this reason I have enjoyed the chapters that I have read yet.
    The other day I was talking about the book in class, and it’s very productive to put our ideas in common, because it’s the way that we can think in things that we hadn’t thought before.

  2. Vicent permalink
    December 18, 2010 12:46 pm

    Reading Fall of the giants it’s being a very enjoyable time for me.
    I love to read about History, old and modern, because I’ve always thought that, to try to understand the world and the society in which we live, it’s very useful to know what happened before.

    To tell you the truth, when I saw how thick the book was I became terrified, but now I can’t stop reading , I only want to read more and more. Not having finished reading the book I’m already thinking about the second and the third book of the trilogy.

    About the book, firstly I must say that for first time in my life I’m being able to read an English book without stopping every two or three lines to look for a word into the dictionary. That’s wonderful.

    Secondly it’s a wonderful opportunity to improve my knowledge of History, in this way at the same time I read the book, I also search the internet for some of the facts I read in the book, like, for i.e. the invasion of Veracruz for the USA troops, the name of the german cargo ship full of machine guns – Ipiranga -, the assassination of Mexican President by General Huertas, and the role of the USA in the Mexican Revolution.

    Other interesting event I’ve looked for is the episode about the Saint Peterburg’s Bloody Sunday in 1905, with a demonstration organized by a priest, the father Gapon – I didn’t know anything about father Gapon.
    Well, we’ll be in touch talking about. I’m going to read a little bit more.
    Bye

  3. manoli permalink
    December 19, 2010 11:22 pm

    I´ve had a problem with the voicethread. Someone had reordered her voice in my identity and I don´t Know how had done this.

Leave a Reply

