Skip to content

HOMEWORK FOR THE LONG WEEKEND: INVERSION AND MORE

December 2, 2010

Those of you who want to practice this long weekend can try to write notes about inversion here. Just imagine that you are writing your own grammar notes not for yourself, but for the whole class. Ideally, you would also add some more inversion links to our social bookmarker. This way we have more interactive exercises to practice. If after watching the videotutorial you still have problems, send me an email, as this is very easy to explain. Visitors to the blog are also very welcome to join our group in Mr Wong. Just follow instructions in “OUR TUTORIALS” tabs.

We have finally agreed to make next Friday lesson open for either Mon/Wed group or for the Tues/Thursd one. Just remember we will be in room 5.10 from 9 to 11 am. We will be dealing with the first three chapters of the Fall of Giants, so you should have read them by then.

Finally, I would recommend you to finish watching the video on euphemisms in Helen’s blog . Which euphemisms do you find most funny?

And it goes without saying you are most welcome to write new posts or comments to what others have published.

Enjoy!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mireiacol permalink
    December 2, 2010 2:07 pm

    I can’t write in the document :S Has anybody else this problem?

  2. Trini Sayas permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:24 pm

    Have you open your e-mail??
    I think that first you have to open it and after writing in this site.
    Try to do it!!

  3. maria permalink
    December 11, 2010 11:53 pm

    I don´t like euphemisms. They are a silly thing. It is better to name the things as they are. Without lies, without tricks. Direct to it. If the person who is in front of you is not ready to hear what you are going to say, then is better a silence than a lie. Anyway, my favourite ephemism, which is not in Helen´s video is this: follcullary challenged= a bold person

  4. Trini Sayas permalink
    December 12, 2010 2:54 pm

    It has not been possible to load George Carlin´s video, but I have read and print his fantastic monologue plenty of euphemisms galore.

    I like euphemisms I think some of them are really ingenious , sometimes are very fun, many are inappropiate, but what they are always is be more pleasant. English people like using them , either by their culture, their sense of humor, their education..or to be more polite…I don´t know.

    Spanish people have other culture, and perhaps, in the main, we prefer to be more direct. Anyway, my favourite euphemism is to pass away, and I have to tell you that when I had to use it (writting english) I felt more comfortable .

  5. Lolita permalink
    December 12, 2010 11:28 pm

    I couldn’t watch the George’s video but I’ve read the tanscription writing and it’s very interesting. I’ve looked for George Carlin in You Tube and I’ve found more videos about euphemism.
    I strongly believe that the euphemistic language is more understable when the humorists explain you than if it is used in a formal context.
    My favourite euphemism is “economical with the truth”.

Leave a Reply

