Skip to content

Visit to San Pious V Museum of Fine Arts

November 24, 2010

 

picture credit

On Friday we’ll meet at the Museum, San Pio V, 9, Valencia, a few minutes before 10 am to visit it together with an English speaking guide. This museum is home to many exceptional works of art. It features a large collection of paintings, portraits, prints, sculptures, contemporary works of art and local artefacts.  Did you know that this museum is  the second most important art collection in Spain?.The building is worth a visit too, especially the Renaissance inner patios.

 

 

See you there

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva Marqués Ramón permalink
    November 24, 2010 5:43 pm

    Hello Marisa. I´d like to join the group. Thanks for offering such an interesting visit. Only one question: What time should we be there?
    See you

  2. marisa permalink
    November 24, 2010 6:46 pm

    You’re more than welcome Eva. We should be there a few minutes before 10 (they open at 10).

    See you there

  3. sonidelu87 permalink
    November 26, 2010 3:30 pm

    I have to say that it have been a fantastic experience! I visited the museum when I was a child and now it has been completely diferent, I have enjoyed it a lot and the guide have been so pleasant. Thaks for the museum visit Marisa!

  4. Trini Sayas permalink
    November 26, 2010 10:22 pm

    I liked very much our visit to Saint Pious V Museum that we did this morning.
    First of all , we could meet the other class mates, it was a nice opportunity and we could practise our speaking more or lees.
    On the other hand, the cultural tour was very intersting, centred in Byzantine paintings with magnificent altarpieces full of color and in other important posterior astists like El Bosco, Juan de Juanes, Ribalta, El Españoleto…etc. ending with Goya.
    I loved everything but summing up it was Jesus´s suggestive portrait by Juan de Juanes that has captured me, with his sensitive regard.

  5. Lolita permalink
    November 27, 2010 8:40 pm

    First of all I want to thank Marisa to organize this cultural outing and the guide for his interesting explanations.
    I’ve been in the museum more than hundred times. I’m not exxagerating, it’s true. It’s due I live near it and I go there when they put a new itinerant exhibition.
    I feel fortunate for such a great deal of paintings and studies of art I’ve seen. They’ve come from the best museums and private collections in Europe.
    I agree with Sonia that after the last restoration the museum have gained a lot.
    Before the restoration the pictures hid lots of details, but now people can appreciate as they were painted by the authors.
    I encourage you to visit again paying attention on each detail like the dresses, the landscape
    behind the mean figures, the meals, the animals, the face expressions etc., they are amazing
    I recommend you to watch the Mariano Benlliure’s sculptures in bronze which are located in the part of the museum and in the courtyard by the cafeteria.

  6. marisadedios permalink*
    November 28, 2010 12:47 am

    Thank you for your comments, all the merit is George’s, he’s such a good guide. We were so lucky to have him. It is as if he had been doing that all his life, isn’t it? I had also been to the museum a few times, but this was the visit I have enjoyed the most. What an enjoyable Friday lesson.

  7. maria permalink
    November 30, 2010 4:15 pm

    George is a clear example of the difference between just doing things and loving the things that you do. His explanation was unusual and interesting, and he got our smile in more than one ocassion which is not easy. I loved the paintings and the place itself. And I am embarrased to say that it was my first time there…Thank you Marisa for this activity, and thanks George for your kindly “moleculation” tour.

  8. July 29, 2014 6:54 am

    Hola! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and
    finally got the bravery to go ahead and give
    you a shout out from Lubbock Texas! Just wanted to mention keep up the fantastic job!

  9. August 25, 2014 2:44 am

    Hi to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are pleasant for
    new users.

  10. September 16, 2014 9:22 pm

    Hi there great blog! Does running a blog similar to this reqjire
    a massive amount work? I’ve absolutely no expertise in programming however I had been hoping to start my
    own blog in the near future. Anyhow, if you have any ideas or
    tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic
    but I simply had to ask. Kudos!

  11. September 20, 2014 11:25 pm

    Thanks for finally talking about >Visit to San Pious V Museum of Fine Arts | Our Advanced English blog <Loved it!

Leave a Reply

