Skip to content

All Saints´Day

October 31, 2010

In a few days, the 1st of November, we are going to celebrate All Saints´Day. On this day, Spanish people go to the cemetery to give flowers to their loved ones that are no longer with us.

The cemetery is full of people at the same day and fortunately for the flower shops, many flowers are sold.

In my opinion, it´s not necessary a specific day to remember our loved ones. My grandmother left us 6 years ago, and I remember her everyday because she was one of the best people I´ve ever met in my life and I think I will ever meet.

For this reason, I want to share with you that I respect what people do this day sincerely, but in my case, I´m going to remember her without flowers and without crowds, because the only thing I really need, is  a minute in silence, only for her and for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. marisa permalink
    November 4, 2010 1:11 pm

    I can see your point Sonia, and to be honest, I do the same thing, I don’t need a day to remember my beloved ones who have passed away. However, I do understand that for some people, going to the cemetery is in some way therapeutic. They feel better paying that tribute to the people they loved. If I was among those, I would probably go any other day, though. As so many other things it is very much a comercial thing, isn’t it?

  2. mireiacol permalink
    November 4, 2010 4:28 pm

    I agree with you Sonia. What is more, I think some celebrations like Saint Valentine’s day, father’s day or mother’s etc. are just days that some companies have created to earn more money. I know it isn’t the same but… well, what I mean it’s that, if you love somebody, it isn’t necessary to remember him/her just one day.

  3. sonidelu permalink
    November 8, 2010 11:08 am

    Actions speak louder than words! I think the same as you Mireia, If we have something to say, all the days are the best day. And If we love somebody, we have to demonstrate it everyday, not only with a beautiful present in a concrete day.

Leave a Reply

