Skip to content

Study English abroad

October 15, 2010

Hi everybody!

This is my first post in our blog. I’d like to tell you about my experiences studying English abroad. I’ve had the opportunity to do such thing three times. The first one I went to Ireland when I was sixteen years-old and the other times I travelled to England (2009 and 2010). In my opinion you can learn English in Spain if you study very hard but the best and easiest option to learn quickly is to live in those countries. You should stay a minimum of 4 weeks to take advantage of this experience. In my case I stayed 6 weeks the last two times. I couldn’t believe my improvement in speaking and listening skills.

There are a lot of advantages to studying English abroad, but there are cons as well. On the one hand, you can enjoy a different culture, meet a lot of people, try several dishes and live a lot of experiences that you will never forget. But on the other hand, you should get used to the weather, the food (if you are fussy) and the customs of the people who live there. Furthermore, you’ll miss your relatives and friends. However, it is a temporary situation!

I’d like to give you some webs to help you if you were interested in finding a good language school:

http://www.englishinbritain.co.uk/

http://www.britishcouncil.org/accreditation-az-list.htm

http://www.quality-english.com/

I recommend everyone to enjoy this kind of experience. There are a lot of grants (in my case it was a teacher’s one) and possibilities to make this things true.

Cheer up!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. eoimarisa permalink*
    October 16, 2010 10:04 am

    Thanks for the post. Yeah, I completely agree with you. It’s a great experience and you obviouly learn faster. Don’t forget, however, that now with internet we are much closer to anything in English: TV, radio, newspapers, magazines… No excuse for not practicing! .) 🙂

  2. maria hidalgo permalink
    October 19, 2010 10:17 pm

    I highly recommend all of you the experience of going abroad to study english -if you are interested in, of course-. I was very lucky, I used to do that for the summer. I always stayed with a family, but when I got 18, I told to my parents that I wanted to go to a college. They allowed me. I went to London. I met my husband (he is spanish, from valencia), and now we have 3 wonderful children but I didn´t learn any word of english. It was worthwile BUT IF YOU REALLY WANT TO LEARN TRY TO LIVE WITH AN ENGLISH FAMILY.

Leave a Reply

