Skip to content

IN THE NEWS

September 30, 2010

Here is the mindmap we have done in class today. You all have the articles, so I would like you to give us your opinion on any of them. For those of you who didn’t attend our lesson, you have the articles in the document “strike” in the box.

We have read three articles:
– The government has prompted the strike, we had no other option.
– How good intentions turned into a tool for exploitation.
– I can’t get by without my parents’ help.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Beatriz Gómez permalink
    September 30, 2010 10:46 am

    When I finished to read the article “I can’t get by without my parents’ help “ I was really sad. I think that may be very frustrating to work very hard to have a doctorate in microbiology and not be able to work in Spain.
    But I think that it is not new in Spain .
    I don’t Know why, but I think Spaniards are a little silly or no very intelligent because we are able to work very hard when we want and we are very clever when it is necessary, but we aren’t constant and we aren’t far-sighted either.

    Anayway, I hope that in not too many time the situation will change and a good formation is ever better that nor to do anything

  2. mireiacol permalink
    October 2, 2010 4:57 pm

    I agree with beatriz, I think is very frustrating to work so hard and then don’t get a job. Before, if you had studied you got a job, now, if you’ve got a master or a doctorate isn’t enough.

    What is more, if the government plans to delay the obligatory retirement until 67 years, young people won’t get a job ever! If now it’s difficult I can’t imagine what will happen then.

  3. Marta.tama permalink
    October 3, 2010 11:55 am

    In first hand, concerning the article Bea´s wrote, I see her point of view; I understand people who decided to move to other country to get a job or to accept a good job offer, it´a hard decision but nowadays there aren´t much options.

    Spain isn´t a country that invest money in scientific research and in my opinion nowadays this is one of the main problems, so If things don´t change in a very few time, we are going to lose good researchers, engineers… that find good jobs with better conditions in other countries than in Spain.

    And it´s a truth that people who has a university degree is having more difficult to find a job that people who has studied a FP, so we should do a reflexion about the education system in Spain.

    In second hand, concerning about the obligatory retirement until 67 years old, I hope that politicians think over it and change the labor law because the obligatory retirement until 67 years old should be an option for workers, not an obligation; I can´t imagine a 67 years old worker working in a fabric…

  4. Manoli Mateu permalink
    October 3, 2010 7:16 pm

    I will start by examining the article named “The government has prompted the strike…….”
    This article offers specific information about the interview with the heads of Spain´s unions.
    Both are disagree with the Labor Reform proposal.
    In addition to this, they are very disappointed with the Government as both say this reform is reversible and Zapatero says the contrary.
    But the most controversial aspect of which is to postpone the retirement.
    In my point of view, I don´t agree with the obligatory retirement age to 67 at all. Obviously, depending on the kind of job, people will be fed up with working. Specially, someone who had a hard debilitation job.
    Consequently, I think the Government should find another way to solve this problem.

  5. Virginia Perez permalink
    October 3, 2010 11:44 pm

    I think that the age of retirement should be changed because until recently people began working with 15-20 years, but nowadays people begin working much later so they should retire later too. In my opinion maybe instead of fixing an age of retirement they should fix the number of years one should work to be able to retire or maybe depending the type of job you have you could retire at one age or another.

    While I was reading the second article, the one about young people and unemployment I felt I was reading about myself. Probably when I finish my education I won’t get a job that recognises all the work that I have put towards completing my education. Probably I will have to leave Spain to get a good job, I don’t know. But I don’t think there is only one thing that is causing this situation; as Marta.tama said maybe we should change our educational system and focus more on vocational training and less on higher education.

    I think there isn’t only one thing we have to do to change things; there are a lot of things we should change.

  6. Cristina permalink
    October 3, 2010 11:47 pm

    I’ve read all the articles, and I have to say that I’ve been really touched by the last one “I can’t get by without my parents’ help”. As Beatriz says, it’s very sad, but unfortunately it’s the real world nowadays here in Spain.
    Young people are extremely discouraged, and it seems like labor market and the crisis don’t let us develop adult life normally and settle our future. Government should focus on searching for the best solutions, which are not those based on the same mistakes made in the past.
    In that sense, as far as I’m concerned, the first article gives some important keys to deal with labor problems such as promoting entrepreneurship or reducing the number of different contracts to get round exploitation. It can be truth that a lot of young people don’t have the experience required for some high-qualified works (even if they’re well prepared), but it’s also undeniable that shortterm contracts don’t help at all to improve the situation. Motivation is essential to change the outlook, but if we are paid a pittance, obviously there will be a lack of. Anyway, I agree with Valeriano Gómez that “it’s economic recovery that really creates work”, what is the same as saying that afterall we are in the hands of politicians. It’s a vicious circle.

  7. Sandra permalink
    October 4, 2010 9:04 pm

    I agree with my classmates in some opinions. Refering to the first article, that one that talks about the Labor Reform proposal, I think the strike was inevitable. Nowadays we don’t still know the consequences of the fact, but I hope it has some reactions by the Government. We can’t turn a blind eye to how the society is developing.!

    About the second article I should say that this situation affects me as well. I’m 25 years old and as a lot of friends of mine, unfortunately, we aren’t financially stable. We don’t have the same opportunities that our grandparents or parents had. In the article we can see the examples of some people who have had this problems but there are thousands of young people in this situation. Furthermore, it isn’t the same in other developed countries. The have better salaries than us and can allow to buy or rent properties easily.

    Finally I’ll say that complain about this topics isn’t enough and is useless. We should do something, all together.

  8. Lolita permalink
    October 5, 2010 12:25 am

    As the headline tells, all we are a “Generation in Crisis”.

    It is difficult to young people to find a stable job even those who have a good curriculum.

    When they get a job it used to be a short-term or understimate. But what about people that

    exceed the fifties and have lost their job because of the “crisis”?

    It is supposed that they are the parents of the young people between twenty and thirty. If

    the parents and children are in the same situation. What is the solution?. Maybe give them

    a poor subsidy?

    So I agree with the leaders of the main unions that only working well together, we will stop

    the degradation in the workers rights and press to government to make a health policy to

    create jobs in better conditions.

  9. Anna Seguer permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:53 pm

    LIFE IS LOVELY
    Hi everyone,
    I don’t know if you think like me, but I start to be a little tired of the word “crisis”. I don’t want you think I am a superficial person.
    In my opinion, we have arrived at this situation in Spain, not only for one reason, but for many reason:- Structural problems,-market rules,-bad education,-disconnection between the studies and the needs of the market, etc, etc.
    I am reading in this moment The grapes of wrath (1939) and I consider very appropriate this quotation: “We can’t depend on it. The bank- The monster has to have profits all the time. It can’t wait. It’ll die. No, taxes go on. When the monster stops growing, it dies. It can’t stay one size.”
    I agree with Estela García: We would have to put a Plan B into action and create a job we like and try to be our entrepreneurs ourselves.

  10. Trini Sayas permalink
    October 6, 2010 1:53 pm

    Hi Anna
    It is very nice to meet you here!
    I agree wiyh you, I am so tired too, always the same word “crisis”…what crisis??, maybe the bank crisis? or the governmemt crisis? perhaps the rich peolpe crisis?. No, It is the crisis created by poweful people and suffered by ordinary people.
    I don´t know which is the global solution because there are lots of business interests, but how can we rise the plan B? , how can we create a job we like and try to be our entrepreneurs ourselves?. Remenber we do always depend on the bank.
    Maybe it is time to change our style life

  11. nadiasays permalink
    October 8, 2010 11:09 am

    I have read the article “I can’t get by without my parents’ help” and I’d like to give my point of view. I feel like them in many points. I have studied a Biochemistry degree and right know I’m finishing a Masters degree on Biomedical Biotechnology.
    In science there is a very long, hard road to finally get a good job. Above all in Spain. And meanwhile, one has to do interships to get some experience in laboratory work. (I mean, working for free). Without that, it is very hard to get a job. My question is, if you are studying and doing practice, from where do you get money? The answer is, in most cases, obious: from mom and dad.
    This is my case. While I’m finishing the Master, on the morning I am working on a lab for free (wich I should say, I’m very happy with, although I earn nothing only knowledge ;D) doing a final master project and, on the afternoon, I attend to lessons on the master.
    I should say that I feel lucky because my parents had always put my education above all and they had paid all my studies. And they still doing it. Without them, I don’t know how my life would be. I hope some day all this courses I’m doing worth it.
    However, I’d like to earn some money, because I know that in a couple of years the only option for me would be to go abroad to find a job good enough to live. And I’d like to be able to pay the rent of an apartment without my parents help. But right now, I don’t know how to do it…
    Someone said that scientist are a bit crazy… I think so!

Leave a Reply

