Skip to content

Esther’s radio story

April 17, 2010
by

Listen to me telling you a story. Would you like to read it too? Then click on “read more” below.

After you have listened to my story , please take a minute to do the poll. Our teacher will let us know who is the winner of this competition.

Feel free to write a comment giving a different end or just continuing my story.

I want to tell you a funny anecdote that happened to us when we visited Laos 4 years ago with my husband, another couple and my youngest brother. When we were there, Laos was a perfect holiday destination not too packed with tourist. We travelled in our own so we tried to arrive to unspoilt lovely places. One day, following the advice of the guide we arrived to a wild and paradisiac area. We did not have much money to spend, so we had to look for a cheap hotel to stay. We found a small one run by a nice family where the lovely “mummy” prepared some delicious breakfast, so we chose it. The place had nice huts on both sides of the river, normally we rented two rooms to save money, but this time was very cheap and decided to take a cottage for everyone. We were delighted with our houses, so after a good dinner we went to bed. In the middle of the night my brother that slept alone started to hear loud noises in his room, something that was on the floor under his bed, it seemed that his bag was moving … he did not know what to do, so it just occurred to him to put on his walk-man with loud music and he thought : “I don´t mind what is happening, but I am not going to get up”, he was really scared but at the end fatigue and sleep overcame him.

In the morning he got up very excited, he wasn´t sure if it has been a only a nightmare… . but then, he couldn´t believe it! , his bag was in the other side of the room and inside, a cookies´ package opened and bitten by an animal! It hadn´t been a dream , it was real!
We went to have breakfast and he told us his night adventure, we were all terrified, wondering what kind of “visitor” he had had. We asked “mummy” about it, and she with a big smile, told us ” it was just a “miau”… and she laughed! While we were there some local people walked around it and they brought a kind of giant rat. They told us that they hunted them to eat… We never knew which strange creature dragged the bag and tried to eat the chocolates, but we were sure that there wasn´t any cats so…, I remember that the next day my husband bought two headlights and were on, the whole night, in case the “miau” returned to visit us …

3 Comments leave one →
  1. eoimarisa permalink*
    April 17, 2010 5:59 pm

    I’m not sure I would have been brave enough to sleep at that hotel another night Esther. Just a thing about your delivery, you weren’t supposed to read your story but to tell us is as natural a way as possible.

  2. Esther permalink
    April 22, 2010 1:43 am

    Marisa, I can assure you that I did not read it, but I am afraid that I am not very good interpreting, always I wanted to do theatre…

  3. eoimarisa permalink*
    April 24, 2010 8:46 am

    Ok, Esther, I believe you. I just thought you were reading, but if you say you weren’t then that is fine. I am a terrible story teller myself. When I tell a joke nobody laughs! so I understand what you mean.

Leave a Reply

