Skip to content

Carles’s story: a journey to Italy

April 16, 2010

Listen to me telling you a story. Would you like to read it too? Then click on “read more” below.

After you have listened to my story , please take a minute to do the poll. Our teacher will let us know who is the winner of this competition.

Feel free to write a comment giving a different end or just continuing my story.

And now is the moment of our weekly radio broadcast “Confessions live”. We have a very shoking story today entitled

A Journey to Italy

I had wanted to travel to Pompeii since I was a child. I imagined its ruins, temples, stony streets, pictures and so on. I used to dream of meeting ancient Pompeian people, living in their homes, tasting new food, going to the theatre to watch a show or doing sport in the gymnasium. I wanted, to sum up, to travel into the past. Everyone knows that it is impossible. At least, I wanted to travel to Italy and to walk in that wonderful and ancient city called Pompeii.

I tried to do that a lot of times. I finally managed to do the journey. It was a month ago. “A dream came true”  I thought,  after flying from Valencia to Naples catching a cab and arriving at one ramshackle hotel. Before visiting the legendary Pompeii, I walked around Naples. It seemed to be a mixture of nobility –magnificent historical buildings, a great past, good food- and decadence –rubbish in the streets, dangerous places. The best were Napolitan people; they were, in general, very kind.

I got up the following morning having an only image in my mind: Pompeii. While getting dressed I thought “you are able to convert a dream into reality. My friend, this day IS YOUR DAY”. I took the “Circumvesuviana” –narrow-gauge railways- and, in the end, I arrived in Pompeii, that is to say, at the main aim of my life.

“You are lucky, you are bringing your fantasy to fruition” I said to myself. I remembered I bought my ticket at nine o’clock. Later I  went to the ruins. My first thought about Pompeii was “it’s a city immortalized by the lava, captivated by the gods for all of us”. I started my visit. I started feeling the place, the monuments, imaging to walk over there before the destruction. There were a lot of tourists. The hours went by slowly, very slowly. The number of tourists decreased in the afternoon. At six o’clock I was in an empty street without people around me. I entered a home and, then, I listened to a strange voice which called me.

It was a whispering and attractive voice –strictly speaking, the voice of a woman. It looks as though it came from further away or, maybe, from somewhere around me. I did not know it, but I was not scared by it. “Who are you?”, the voice spoke in English asking about my identity. It was very odd: I thought the voice would speak Latin or Oscan  -languages spoken in Pompeii. We talked about different things for a long time and she confessed that she was a Pompeian noble dead in the eruption of the Vesuvius. It –that is to say, “she”-invited me to come back there. I had already fallen in love with her and accepted. I came back six times. The third day she touched my hand. She had a frozen touch, but I really enjoyed it. I promised to try to bring her into our world. The last time she did not appear. She seemed to have been dispersed in the dark. “Come back, come back, please”, I shouted. The security guards took me and I was expelled from Pompeii. I promised not to come back to Pompeii in exchange for not being reported.

Despondent, I arrived at the aeroport to take a plane. I sat down and, downhearted, I started watching a screen in which it was being broadcasted a programm based on candid camera called “Cheating country bumpkins”. Laughing, I watched carefully different scenes until I watched myself on the screen! My face was covered by a kind of digital blot which protected my identity. The presenters were looking for me. They offered a very generous amount in exchange for information about me. I had been cheated! The suggestive voice was that of an actor in his forties, the Pompeian house was made of cardboard. Humiliation finished with all my love for that voice. Acting normal, I reached a corner and waited for my flight.

Carles Peñarrocha Martínez

5 Comments leave one →
  1. eoimarisa permalink*
    April 17, 2010 6:48 pm

    Your story is quite impressive Carles, what a pity that you forgot that you were not supposed to read it, but tell it in your own words.

  2. carolmedel permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:57 pm

    Your tale is brilliant, Carles! I couldn´t imagine that it would end in that way! Have you ever been in Pompeii? It must be amazing!

  3. Carles permalink
    April 21, 2010 9:39 pm

    I thank you for your congratulations Carol. I’m very glad to see you like my tale. Yes, I’ve been in Naples and Pompeii in Falles. And, besides, I wanted to travel there for a long time. You are right, it’s an astonishing place. I advise to visit it.

  4. Esther permalink
    April 22, 2010 1:57 am

    Carles is a very nice story, I have never been in Pompeii, but I can imagine that something like this could happen … but not with this end 😦

  5. May 2, 2010 2:06 am

    Hi, I am planning my next vacation destination and found your blog very informative, thanks

Leave a Reply

