Skip to content

Woody Allen: A quirky personality

March 3, 2010

picture: filmica.com

I think that Woody Allen is a good example of a quirky personality. Allen was born and raised in Brooklyn in the bosom of a Jewish family. He didn’t have0 a happy childhood; his parents had a turbulent relationship and during summer camps he was “savagely beaten by children of all races”.

In spite of having a gift for comedy, when he went to New York University to study communication and film he failed a film course and was eventually expelled.

Allen got married 3 times and, although h Mia Farrow and him never married, he adopted 2 children with her and they also had a biological child, who doesn’t want any relationship with him. Also, Mia had other biological and adopted children, one of them was Soon-Yi,  with whom Allen got married a few years later.

Allen has undergone psychoanalysis for  at least 30 years but in spite of  that, he admits he is still a claustrophobic and agoraphobic person.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. esterot permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:56 pm

    Yes, Carol. You have reason, Woody Allen is a clear example of a quirky personality. In fact, I think he transmits it in some of his films, which are quite good from my point of view (well, I have only seen two, I think, but I liked them. Now, I’d like to see “Si la cosa funciona”, it’s said that is very good)

  2. Carles Peñarrocha Martínez permalink
    March 4, 2010 2:22 am

    I love this director. I watched a lot of his films. I remember, for exemple, play it again, Sam, Bananas or Mighty Aphrodite. Although, it’s also true that I don’t like his penultimate movie Vicky Cristina Barcelona –according to me is based on stereotypes, and I hate it.
    On the other hand, I think he exploits his own character to the limit; that is to say, he plays always the part of a shy, unconfident and mediocre guy but, at once, sensitive, optimistic and intelligent. I couldn’t watch his last film Whatever works, but I have promised myself that I’m going to see it soon.

  3. carolmedel permalink
    March 4, 2010 8:46 am

    Hello mates! You carried out a wonderfull analisys of Woody Allen personality and his films. I agree with you Carles, I think that Vicky-Cristina-Barcelona was one of his worst films. Anyway, he amended with his last one: I think that “Whatever Works” is one of his films which better shows Allen’s quirky personality
    Ahh! Mónica, If you want to see another Woody Allen film I recomend you one of his recent films, Macht Point: Allen in its purest form!

  4. isabelalejo permalink
    March 8, 2010 3:24 pm

    Yes I’m completely sure that Woody Allen is a perfect example of quirky personality, but don’t you think that is same for Toulouse-Lautrec?
    Do you remember my speech? Let see, he had an unhappy childhood, he grow up distanced from his family in an affective way and he was full of complexes. What is more, he needed to go out at night, drink heavily or find sex to reach inspiration. But above everything, he was a genius, simply a genius who worked in a special way and was able to made wonderful paintings.

Leave a Reply

