Skip to content

FAVOURITE RESTAURANTS?

October 19, 2009

Hi,

At last I am in my home again, I have been living at my mother´s house almost for a year because my building and my  house were being redecorated, and since yesterday I have internet so I am connected to the world again.

About the tip this week I am afraid I am not going to be very helpful but I will try. I am on my own with my two daughters so I don´t  eat out very often and I don´t know many restaurants to compare. The last one  I went to  was “La sota d´abastos”, in Navarra street, near my house in the old Abastos Market. I was there with a group of other parents and all of us liked it.  It is run by a very nice  Argentinian couple and they have original  flavoury dishes, the service was good and the place is nice, they have a special place for big groups so we were very comfortable. The price was expensive for me, almost 30 euros, but for the other people it was a normal price, I supose it´s because I am not used to going out lately everything is too expensive for me. The nice thing is that they have a daily menu for 12 euros at lunch time and I have come back there in more occassions with  friends,  the food was always good and the service really nice so I would recomended it if you come to this area of the city.

See you,

Amparo

5 Comments leave one →
  1. esthercosta permalink
    October 19, 2009 1:33 pm

    My favorite restaurant in Valencia is called ” Temple of Crystal “. It is Hindu – Pakistani. The food is good and different, it consists of rice, sauces and spices. The decoration is very typical, so when you go there you will like it. The atmosphere is also very agreeable. It is not very expensive, so we can afford to go even in these times of crisis.

  2. eoimarisa permalink*
    October 19, 2009 5:49 pm

    Thank you Amparo for opening this discussion. I am glad you’re connected again. I am terrible at remembering names, even restaurant names. I love eating out but I hate it when I feel it’s been a rip off. Therefore I am going to recommend PATI PINEDA, in Menendez Pelayo University (El Carmen suburb). It is simply excellent value. The only drawback is that is only open Monday to Friday at lunch time.

  3. janea08 permalink
    October 19, 2009 8:10 pm

    One of my favourite restaurants in Valencia is Los Madriles, but I think it is recently closed. It is a pity because we used to go for family celebrations time to time. The place was almost too narrow to fit in four tables but you felt as you were at home. His old fashion decoration full of bullfight posters brought you to a tavern from the centre of Spain, but you could have wonderful meals there. Food has always been very good, fully fresh from Ruzafa market and not much elaborated. I mean nothing to do with the new cuisine that is making Spain in such important position. However their dried vegetables (menestra), or season artichokes with cured ham, their cooked veal or their shoulder blade lamb with mush potatoes, their baked apples or coffee flan will be in my cookery memories forever.

  4. supered1 permalink
    October 19, 2009 10:51 pm

    I don’t usually go out for dinner, but I specially liked Tony Roma’s, on Canovas’ Place. I’ve only been there twice, but I enjoyed the meal much more than in most of the restaurants I’ve been to. I had pork ribs, Caesar’s salad and, as far I can remember (it was a while ago), I didnt find it too expensive.

    By the way amparo, if I am asked to pay 30€ for a dinner, it better be a very special one, and we better end up all drenched in alcohol, and have triple dessert for everyone. Else, it’s a little too expensive in my opinion.

  5. ANGEL PUCHOL GARCIA permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:20 am

    Amparo when people like us go out from time to time, last thing that we have to do is think about price of the dinner. That is for people who go out twice every weekend.
    We need come back home thinking that we have spent a marvellous night with our friends (included our couple).
    In my opinion if there is a nice place to eat “tapeo” like anywhere, it is “El pito” in Meliana telephone number is 961493321

Leave a Reply

