Skip to content

Pe’s Oscar

March 23, 2009

HELLO EVERYBODY!

Here is my article with some questions to comment.I hope you find it interesting.

Penelope Cruz wins first Oscar for Spanish actress

Sun Feb 22, 2009 10:35pm EST

By Sue Zeidler

LOS ANGELES (Reuters) – Penelope Cruz became the first Spanish-born actress to win an Oscar by taking the best supporting actress award on Sunday for her role as tempestuous artist Maria Elena in Woody Allen’s romantic comedy “Vicky Cristina Barcelona.”

Cruz, 34, thanked both Allen and Spanish film director Pedro Almodovar for their roles in shaping her career and dedicated the gold statuette to the actors from her country.

“Thank you Woody for trusting me with this beautiful character. Thank you for having written over all these years some of the greatest characters for women,” she said.

With her Oscar win, Cruz, joins fellow actresses Dianne Wiest and Mira Sorvino in scoring best supporting-actress Oscars for their performances in Woody Allen films.

“I grew up in a place called Alcobendas, where this was not a very realistic dream,” said Cruz.

Dressed in a 60-year-old ivory Pierre Balmain vintage gown and fighting back tears, Cruz asked anyone had ever fainted while accepting an Oscar. “I might be the first one.”

Born in Madrid to a hairdresser and an auto mechanic, Cruz got her big break in the Spanish film industry in 1992 with “Jamon Jamon.”

She captured the attention of the Oscar-winning Almodovar, who cast her in various movies including the 2006 film “Volver,” which earned her a best actress Oscar nomination for her turn as a woman who kills her abusive husband.

That nod made Cruz the first Spanish woman to be nominated for a best actress Academy Award for a non-English speaking role.

Cruz thanked Almodovar for “having made me part of so many of his adventures.”

Cruz’s Oscar win on Sunday follows a British BAFTA award and other U.S. critics awards this season for her performance in “Vicky Cristina Barcelona” as the fiery ex-wife to a bohemian artist portrayed by Javier Bardem who has wooed a pair of young American women vacationing Spain.

Cruz struggled for years to convince English-speaking movie audiences to take her seriously after critics panned her earlier performances in films like “Woman on Top,” and was sometimes better-known for high-profile romances with stars like Tom Cruise and Matthew McConaughey.

‘CLIMBING MOUNTAINS’

Backstage on Sunday, Cruz said she is grateful that she was not discouraged by those earlier “invalidations.”

“You have to keep climbing mountains. It’s better not to listen or to engage in those debates,” she said, adding that she is encouraged by how more open the entertainment industry is to people with accents

It has been changing. We are all mixed together and that has to be reflected in cinema. I’m happy that finally that door seems to be more open and not just to me and three other people, but to a much bigger group,” she said.

(Reporting by Sue Zeidler; Editing by Mary Milliken and Cynthia Osterman)

Article from: http://www.reuters.com/article/filmNews/idUSTRE51M19B20090223

Penelope Cruz is the first Spanish actress winning the Oscar…This makes me think….

Does Penelope Cruz really deserve the Oscar for his role in Vicky, Cristina, Barcelona?

Is it her best role? Is Penelope Cruz our best actress?

Did The Oscars award her character or her popularity campaign? Has Penelope won the Oscar this year because she didn’t win last year with Volver?

Have you seen the film? Are you so amazed observing her 15 minutes performance in the film as to think she deserves to be awarded an Oscar?

Does the Oscar award the best performances or the more fashionable artists?

Let me know what do you think please! Thanks!

Paula

7 Comments leave one →
  1. eoimarisa permalink*
    March 23, 2009 6:20 pm

    Thank you, Paula. A very interesting article. I think I agree with you. I like Penelope’s performance in Vicky… but it is true that we have better actresses and that it is popularity etc that probably influences the Oscar awards.
    Some very good films are very difficult to watch because they are not “commercial” while other terrible ones are on for weeks and weeks, aren’t they?

  2. almanusa permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:46 pm

    Congratulations to Penelope Cruz, but this award doens´t change my opinion about her. I think she is a very ordinary actress, but she had the oportunity to cross the Pond to Hollywood and she is making good use of it. The problem is that not everyone has as good godfather as Antonio Banderas in Hollywood.

  3. Mario permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:35 pm

    Does Penelope Cruz really deserve the Oscar for his role in Vicky, Cristina, Barcelona? Is it her best role? Is Penelope Cruz our best actress?

    Did The Oscars award her character or her popularity campaign? Has Penelope won the Oscar this year because she didn’t win last year with Volver?

    Have you seen the film? Are you so amazed observing her 15 minutes performance in the film as to think she deserves to be awarded an Oscar?

    Does the Oscar award the best performances or the more fashionable artists?

    Hello Paula. First of all, thanks for your proposal. I think it is a quite controversial subject which makes easy and entertaining to reply to it.

    In relation to your first quiestion, I dont know what qualities and skills makes an actress/actor able to win the oscar award, but in my opinion she did quite well. I mean, i enjoyed the way she acted in “Vicky Cristina Barcelona”. It was quite a short role, I am with you in that, but the character profile was clear eventhough in such a short period of time. And that is somehting I appreciate. Besides, although i havent enjoyed her role in this film as i did in others, i found good the way she played that strong but nearly mad woman. There were some bits where she acted as she was really mental, and i suppose that is not easy.
    About if The Oscar awards the best performances or the most fashionable artists, i guess there has to be a part of both. The Oscars is a business but it is also a gathering of some of the best film makers, artists and films, therefore something interesting may take place since all the ingredients are in it.
    Well, see you at the lesson. Xau.

  4. Mario permalink
    March 24, 2009 10:37 pm

    Hello Paula. First of all, thanks for your proposal. I think it is a quite controversial subject which makes easy and entertaining to reply to it.

    In relation to your first question, I dont know what qualities and skills make an actress/actor able to win the oscar award, but in my opinion she did quite well. I mean, i enjoyed the way she acted in “Vicky Cristina Barcelona”. It was quite a short role, I am with you in that, but the character profile was clear even in such a short period of time. And that is somehting I appreciate. Besides, although i havent enjoyed her role in this film as i did in others, i found good enough the way she played that strong but nearly mad woman. There were some bits where she acted as she was really mental, and i suppose that is not easy.
    About if The Oscar awards the best performances or the most fashionable artists, i guess there has to be a part of both. The Oscar is a business but it is also a gathering of some of the best film makers, artists and films, therefore something interesting may take place since all the ingredients are in together.
    Well, see you at the lesson. Xau.

  5. eoiamalfi permalink
    March 25, 2009 1:43 pm

    I have not seen already the film, but I have seen some extracts and from my view this is not one of her best performances.
    There are other roles in films like Volver, Elegy or Gothika not blockbusters but I think she did it better than in Woody Allen´s .
    She´s not one of my favourite actress but congratulations to Penelope in all case…

  6. María del Campo permalink
    March 30, 2009 8:18 pm

    As far as I am concerned I must say I don’t like Penelope Cruz as an actress at all, I don’t consider her our best actress, but I have to admit that she’s the Spanish most popular one. I have watched the film this weekend and I have enjoyed it, but Penelope’s performance is too shorter to appreciate the skills I had expected. To be honest I have to admit that for me this isn’t her best role at all, her work at ‘Volver’ is miles better than the one as ‘Maria Elena’ at Allen’s film.
    I believe that working with Woody Allen is a kind of guarantee for the actress to be considered for these awards. For instance, Diane West won not only one but two Oscars working with Allen (the first one in 1986 for her role in ‘Hannah and her sisters’ and the second in 1994 with “Balas sobre Broadway”) and Mira Sorvino won the Oscar for her performance at “Poderosa Afrodita”. It seems to me that there are some directors or actors who are in some way pampered by the Academy.
    Some years ago I read an article and it was amazing because the author explained that Hollywood has a special like for tortured characters as mental, alcoholics, etc… and with the years I have realized that it’s true. For instance Tom Hanks won the Oscar in 1993 with Philadelphia for his role of AIDS infected or Nicolas Cage who won the same award at 1995 for Leaving Las Vegas.
    Finally I would like to point out that many times it seems that Oscars award the most fashionable actors instead the best performances. Perhaps, Pe’s Oscar awards not only her character but also her popularity, which is going beyond what we all expected, so many times due to her affairs but anyway we have to be proud of her because she’s the first Spanish woman who has achieve it.

  7. janea08 permalink
    April 27, 2009 5:48 pm

    Does Pe deserves..?

    Of course not, but who deserves it? I mean we are talking about Oscar awards and Hollywood, the dreams factory. So why a girl born in Alcobendas couldn’t make her dream comes true. Why the muse of our best-known director, who is reported the most cool and snob in both parts of the Atlantic, wouldn’t win praises for performing those unbelievable, affected and topic Spanish women characters.

    I saw the film some months ago. I must confess I went because since I remember I have been seeing all the WA films. So why to make an exception this time? I like his stories; I found its clever, funny and sharp.

    Ok all the marketing operation around the film stank a bit, and it was Pe, Oh! Yes, our dear Pe in it. Even though I decided to go. Perhaps I went with no hope, I got surprised with all the fun I had. But what I was laughing at? Because, though I thought the film just a bagatelle, I was laughing a lot, especially with Pe short performance. Even being it a stereotype of Mediterranean women character (in a Lollobrigida or Loren style), I must recognize the tandem Cruz-Bardem was the best of the apparently trifle film.

    I was also laughing about how WA pictures out our country (Spain is still different????) or the artist standard living in there (remember the trip to Oviedo in the plane?). Maybe WA was following our famous cinema guru in building and selling topics. Because that’s my private theory about his increasing fame everywhere. Spanish topics nicely packet and better sold. But this is another story.

Leave a Reply

