Skip to content

Brideshead Revisited

November 28, 2008

There is a new film recently released based in the Evelyn Waugh novel Brideshead Revisited. I saw it in original version last week in Babel. I would like to recommend  this film to you for different reasons. First of all because it is this kind of English speaking film in which you can understand almost the main part without paying much attention to the subtitles. Secondly, because the plot is quite interesting, showing how the  Catholic point of view of a rich family in the earlier twentieth century could strongly affect their members.

But I must confess the main reason is to remember a wonderful English TV series. One of the best I have ever seen. Everything was perfect, the scenery, the script, the performance, the music. I remember meeting with friends every week, probably on Tuesday night at home to enjoy Brideshead Revisited.

So going to see the film was something cathartic. By the way the film is correct; the characters are quite well done, the plot is less subtle, showing more than the TV or the book, etc… But all through the projection I was missing to see the TV series again. Maybe I was also missing my youth.

One Comment leave one →
  1. esterpinter188 permalink
    December 2, 2008 3:31 am

    Oh, I’m craving for going to watch this film. I remember that Brideshead Revisited was my sisters favorite tv serie. Then I was a teenager but, anyway, I enjoyed the serie. Nevertheless, I’m sure I really didn’t undestand it. Your three reasons to revisite Brideshead are irrefutable so I’ll go as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

