Skip to content

My great challenge

November 14, 2008


As far as I’m concerned I think that the most difficult challenge I have faced in my whole life has been to study two university degrees. I know this isn`t an exciting challenge like the ones we have seen in class, but nowadays I’m very proud of myself to have achieved it.

Firstly, when I was a child I was unable to keep on sitting at my chair studying for longer than ten minutes, I always found something more interesting to do.

When I was about twelve I began to study hard, the more I studied, the happier I felt. I started to think that I had the potential to study whatever I wanted and finally Biology was that thing.

At the beginning it wasn’t a difficult task despite spending twelve hours a day at University. I had to deal with endless hours at the lab and not only with exams but also with outdoor activities, for instance one weekend I remember going with a friend to search for rare plant species. I really enjoyed that time and after five years I managed to achieve the goal of becoming a biologist.

After three months looking for a job as a biologist, I realized that it was not going to be easy due to the amount of people that were looking for that kind of job. I realized that having studied Biology wasn’t going to be enough, and I decided to enroll in Biochemistry.

By the time I began to study that, I had found a job as a hostess at Valencia’s port doing the check in for cruise passengers, I had to deal with the difficult task of working and studying at the same time. It was so stressful and I burnt the midnight oil  many nights.

To sum up, I was about to give it up many times but I had the right attitude and finally I managed to rise to the challenge. I couldn’t have done it without great perseverance and of course, litres of coffee.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

