Skip to content

Challenges

November 14, 2008

www.aboutmyarea.co.uk

picture:www.aboutmyarea.co.uk

I have always loved gymnastiscs since I was a child,. I liked practising athletics and resistance exercises. When I was seven years old, I was registered at a sport`s school by my parents. The teachers said that I was very good and that I had a special talent. It is said that if you have a talent for something, you should make good use of it. So, the following years, I carried on at the sport`s school while I did my primary school studies too.

But when I was fourteen, I went to ski with my class. Although I had not the faintest idea about how to ski, I decided to start a dangerous ski race. Consequently, I suffered an accident and injured my knee. While I was in a room, in the hospital, I heard that the doctor was telling my parents that I could not go on practising sports as often as I had been doing till then, only as a hobby. When I heard this I started to cry because I loved doing sport, it was the most important thing in my life. The doctor, also said that there was a surgical operation but it was dangerous so I decided that I did not want it.

In the first year after the accident, I tried to assume the reality, that is why I began to dedicate my time to other activities like reading or writing. A few months later, I understood I wanted to continue doing sport. Then I decided to try the operation. Fortunately, the operation was a success but after this I had to go through extremely hard rehabilitation.

Four years later, my knee is cured and I have just began to practise some easy sports. But when I feel capable I will start my training for the Olympic Games.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

