Skip to content

Are media manipulating us?

November 8, 2008
by

Which foods are good or bad for our health?..We don´t really know!! do we? .

Several years ago, the media published  that olive oil was extremelly bad for our health, and more than one egg a day could damage our liver,also milk could do miracles for everybody and bluefish increased cholesterol levels.

Nowadays, they are proclaiming the contrary. The olive oil is almost a treasure for our bodies, surprisingly, you can have one or two eggs a day, milk can cause stomach diseases, and bluefish is the best for decreasing bad cholesterol.

We are going mad!! Are they doing campaigns for or against food depending on their interests at a certain moment? I don´t know…but please be honest with us!!

Last month, I could hear  that aluminium foil is carcinogenic, and film is bad for sperm!!

What am I supposed to do? Should I wrap my children´s sandwitches with a newspaper?

One Comment leave one →
  1. janea08 permalink
    November 12, 2008 8:30 pm

    You are right. I had the same dilemmas many times. Are we well informed about food and its qualities? I do believe we are. Doctors and health advisers normally drive population trough the main principals. Another thing is when homeopathy and pharmacy companies keep interest in pay attention to some products being its natural or not. And then Media come along and put the focus and made popular that or this for a while. I used to follow what great doctors like Grande Covian used to say. “You must eat a variety of food, and not more than you need”. Fish, meat, milk, cereals, fruits, vegetables and legumes should be regularly in our diet. I think they call “Mediterranean Diet”. And the more natural (less manipulated) we ate food the more profit we had. But you also have to know that maybe some products are not particularly good for you. We must learn to know our body and use the common sense.

    About some goods we normally use to manipulate food. I don’t know what to say. But I used to wrap sandwiches with paper. What is true is aluminium last much time to degrade. So better we use it as few as possible.

    By the way where have you read about to eat one or two eggs a day? I have bloody cholesterol and I must avoid eating many eggs per week. Although I am so happy because my liver is ok at the moment.

Leave a Reply

