Skip to content

IN THE FAR DISTANCE

October 26, 2008

Hello people,

As I said in one of my other posts, I was living in England  last year. It was a nice experience, and it was so good that now i want to have another experience. Maybe next year i will be going to Southamerica or maybe to to Escandinavia, it depends on what I find this year: contacts, people, overseas job possibilities, grants to study,… Lets see what happens.

Another thing that worries me about distance is the fact that it influences relationships. Now I realize how not seeing and meeting people regularly makes it difficult to keep in touch with friends. It becomes an effort sometimes. Maybe it might sound awful, but it is my feeling, to be honest. I left friends over there, in Manchester, and in other countries and cities, and with most of them I have lost the communication.

Does it happen the same to you? do you think distance is a matter of importance? Does the true friendship cope with all these difficulties?

Well, enough for today. See you in the lesson.

Bye

Mario

2 Comments leave one →
  1. janea08 permalink
    November 5, 2008 10:25 pm

    Hi Mario

    I can understand you very well. I also like very much to go abroad and to know different people from different places. It is one of my reasons for improving English. To live in another country definietly gives you a diferent perspective of many things. Also a deeply understanding about you and your own country. Besides, you can have a new acquaintances. Sometimes, to get the chance to make friends. But relationship needs, as all in life, time. But you can get a balance. Looking back I used to have the same feeling when I was young. But it is long time since I understood that life means change. However distance wouldn’t always be a problem, even now with internet and many ways to get in touch. Don’t forget the cheap flies we have today. But all depends what are you looking for and what important are these people for your diary life. I agree with you that we used to put off to write an email or make a phone call. But I really think true friendship can cope with all these difficulties. Althoug sometimes the distance gives you a better way to build relationship.

  2. José Luis permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:26 am

    Hi,
    Nowadays, I think that distante is not an important thing to keep a friendship if you are really interested in keeping it.
    Internet with messengers, emails, webcams, and other stuff has opened a lot of possibilities to keep in touch with friends. Sometimes it’s easier to comunicate with friends through internet than in live. However, I agree you have to make an effort to avoid loosing friends that are in the distance and also those that are close.

Leave a Reply

