Skip to content

David Lean in “La Mostra”

October 21, 2008
by

Hi everybody

I would like to tell you about some nice pictures I have seen at the weekend. I went to the “Mostra de Cine”. I saw different kind of films, but what I most enjoyed were two by David Lean. “Brief Encounter” and “Great Expectations”.

The first one tells the story of a man and a married woman who suddenly fall in love. The second one tells about Pip, a pour young man who becomes a gentleman thanks to a mysterious benefactor, based in Dickens novel. Both films and two other ones “Oliver Twist” and “The Passionate Friends” were in the Mostra as well as some by  James Steward because 2008 is the celebration of his 100 anniversary.

I had heard about these first films from this important English filmmaker, but I had never had the opportunity to see any of them. Probably you,same as me,  have seen  “Laurence of Arabia”, “Doctor Zhivago” or “The Bridge on the river Kwai”. Those films made David Lean popular in the sixties and seventies as a successful filmmaker around the world. But although I like these tremendous international productions, I have to recognize I prefer the other ones. The small but special films I have just seen this weekend. Besides it was a nice surprise to see the films in original version, with Spanish subtitles. It was quite easy to understand the clear dialogues between the main characters as well. If you have time I would like to recommend you these David Lean films. I’m sure money won’t be the problem at 1€ each session!!

.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nadiancia permalink
    October 28, 2008 5:28 pm

    Hi, that is a lovely picture, i want to insert media but the web says i don´t have permission to apload files, i have asked to marisa but i still can´t do it , can you tell me how to make it? thank you!

  2. eoimarisa permalink*
    October 28, 2008 11:27 pm

    Nadia, when you want to upload a pic, you have to add its link to your post

  3. nadia permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:36 am

    Hi!
    I only have seen two films by david lean, doctor zivago and lawrence of arabia, both of them are among the best films i have ever seen. However the original version of doctor zivago doesn´t seem to me as nice as another older version, the first has Genraldine Chaplin and omar sharif as characters, the films last more than three hours! but it is worth it!

Leave a Reply

